A Lesson On Recycling

I was running out of chicken broth, so I decided it was time to throw a chicken in a pot and make up some stock.  As I was standing there picking the meat off the bones, Hannah was keeping me company and chatting away.

She started telling me about how important recycling is for the planet.

“Mama, recycling is good, isn’t it?”

“It sure is, baby.”

“Well, since your busy with that chicken, I’m gonna tell you some things that are great for recycling, okay?”

You bet!

“You can recycle things that are wooden.  You can recycle plastic straws.  You can also recycle glass things, like jars and glass eyes.”

Do you know someone with a glass eye?

“No, but you could recycle one if you wanted to.  It would be nice for the planet.”

I see.  Yes, it sure would.

“You can also recycle cereal boxes, plants, and suitcases.  Stuffed animals.  Lions and the stingers of bees.”

Hmmm…that’s quite a detailed list you have.

“Yeah, I know all about recycling.”


🙂

And I’m sure everyone has their own way of making chicken stock, but in case there’s someone out there reading who doesn’t and might be interested in trying it, here’s how I do it.  There are tons of benefits to making your own broth.  For starters, no preservatives or weird stuff in there that you have to worry about consuming.  The flavor is about a million times better than store bought broth.  I add veggies to my pot while it’s simmering to add some more nutrition.  Any time I’m chopping up veggies, I’ll throw the remains (think broccoli stems, celery  or carrot tops) into a ziplock bag and put it in the freezer.  *I don’t recommend spinach though, it gets all wilty and falls apart and is hard to separate from the meat*  Then when it’s time to make my stock, I just throw them all in the pot.  Not to mention that you get all that wonderful meat to use in recipes along with your broth, so that’s a bonus!  The color of the broth looks nothing like what you buy.  It’s a deep golden brown, but that’s a good thing.  Don’t be alarmed.

Chicken Stock

3-4 lb chicken, remove the innards
12 C. water
veggie leftovers from the freezer
one whole onion
2 t. salt
1/2 t. pepper
1 t. parsley
1 t. basil

Place chicken in large stock pot.
Add water.
Add rest of ingredients.
Cover and bring to boil.  Reduce and simmer 1 1/2 hours.
Remove chicken and let cool.  Remove meat from bones and throw bones back into the pot.
Return to boil and simmer 1 1/2 hours.
Strain stock and cool slightly.

Now, some people let it cool long enough for the fat to congeal at the top, then remove the fat.   I don’t.  I think it enhances the flavor.  However, if you don’t remove the fat, just remember that when you cook with the broth, the food you’re preparing will have a higher fat content.  I let it cool enough to be able to put in baggies.  Sometimes I use jars because I hate paying for baggies when I have tons of jars.  If you use jars, you MUST let the broth cool COMPLETELY before freezing.  Otherwise your jars will ‘splode in the freezer!

I freeze mine in 2 C. portions.  Use within 3 months.

6 thoughts on “A Lesson On Recycling

  1. mel April 15, 2010 at 8:14 pm Reply

    I wonder how the bees feel about having their stingers recycled…
    hugs
    mel

  2. Christy April 15, 2010 at 10:04 pm Reply

    Thanks for the recipe! I’ve always wondered how to do that!

    I’m not so worried about the bees (Mel)…but how does the guy with the glass eye feel about his part in saving the planet?? :). Sorry, but if I ever have to get a glass eye, I’m opting for a brand new one.

    Love that girl!

  3. Susan April 16, 2010 at 1:47 am Reply

    You are so good! I am impressed with the veggie leftovers in the stock. What a great idea. 🙂

  4. Jen April 16, 2010 at 1:10 pm Reply

    Not sure I would have thought to recycle a glass eyeball…but glad to know I could and should it the need ever arises. Kids are the wiisest beings I know!

  5. LuAnn @ Back Home Again April 17, 2010 at 3:26 am Reply

    LOL that is so funny. I work in a retirement community and the other day one of my residents asked me to call her daughter in law so she could help her with her eye. I’m like what in the world, we can help you with your eye. Do you need eye drops or what. ” No, I need my eye taken out and cleaned”… Seriously I had no idea she had a glass eye. So now I’m all curious about glass eyes and recycling!

  6. Becky April 27, 2010 at 12:30 pm Reply

    Hmmm…wonder what you would use a recycled Lion for?
    Ask Hannah, maybe she’ll know.
    Tee hee, so cute!
    Thanks for the recipe. I’ll have to try your way. I just use the water the chicken cooks in. I don’t add anything. But I do freeze it.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

