Skate! Skate! Skate! We Got Mad Skating Skillz!

In the span of 7 days we’ve been to 3 roller skating parties and then decided as a family to go ice skating!

First there was Katie’s friend’s birthday party that was held at the roller skating rink.  (sorry no pictures from this one, but if you’ve seen one little girl’s skating party, you’ve seen them all.)

Then there was the PTO’s yearly skating party.  Where I donned roller skates for the first time since the surgery and did not fall!  I repeat:  I DID NOT FALL.  And my foot did really well.  I was a little nervous about it, but I had no problems other than not going very fast because I was scared.

Here’s a picture of some of the girls from Katie’s class with their principal.  He’s a great principal.  He stands outside every morning and high-fives every kid as they walk into school.  Even in  the winter.  🙂

THEN, there was another roller skating for Girl Scouts!  (again, no pictures.)  But here’s a picture of Hannah sitting in the driver’s seat of the car.  We waited in the car while Brian took Katie in to the skating rink and helped her get her skates on.  She had fun playing with all the buttons and moving the seat all over the place.

And then the four of us decided that we just can’t get enough of skating. In fact, we’s  got skating in our blood apparently, so we decided to switch it up a little and go for ice over roller.  This was a very big mistake on my part.  My foot was definitely not ready to have all of my weight narrowed down to the less than an inch wide blade.  I lasted approximately 15 minutes on that one.

Well I think it is safe to say that we have filled our skating quota for 2010 and will be moving on to other activities.  (Please Lord.)

3 thoughts on “Skate! Skate! Skate! We Got Mad Skating Skillz!

  1. mel March 13, 2010 at 5:33 pm Reply

    Ya know, I lived in Missouri for almost 20 years and never went ice skating… I did plenty of roller but something about balancing on a thin blade just never clicked with me!

    Hopefully your foot has recovered!
    hugs
    mel

  2. Fencepost March 14, 2010 at 10:42 pm Reply

    When I was a kid I could not get enough of roller skating. Loved it!
    I only went ice skating once, it was okay. But I had my own roller skates, not ice skates. So roller skating it was.
    I hope your foot is doing better and it did not cause you any problems!

  3. Kay alias MIL March 15, 2010 at 8:34 pm Reply

    well this is my first time trying to send a reply back…but aren’t my granddaughters the cutest things ever. Love MIL

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

