Saturday Breakfast – Biscuits & Gravy

We don’t do big breakfasts around here through the week.  I eat the same thing every day and the girls usually eat at school or just have some cereal.  Brian doesn’t eat breakfast, so there isn’t really any reason to make a big fuss over it.

Except for Saturdays.  Saturday is our one day of the week where we sit down to a big breakfast.  Saturday is really the only day that we get to spend the entire day together, all four of us.  Brian works at night, so the weekend is when we really get to enjoy each other’s company.

One of my family’s favorite breakfast meals is biscuits and gravy.  I almost always make homemade biscuits with it, but every now and then I’ll use a can of Grand’s if I can get them on sale and have coupons.  If you use canned biscuits, this meal goes together in a snap, but if you do homemade, it will take just a little longer.  But it will be worth it, because they taste fantastic.

For some reason I’ve been posting a lot of recipes lately.  I’m not sure why, but it could be because I was on pain pills for a month and lost my appetite big time.  Now that I’m off the pain pills, my appetite has returned, and it appears that I’m obsessed with food and eating.  Fabulous.

Here’s the recipe for anyone interested.  For anyone not interested, please accept my sincerest heartfelt apologies.  I promise to try to find something else to talk about sometime in the near future.

Biscuits & Gravy

1 lb breakfast sausage
1 each flour, amount varies
1 C milk or more
1 each salt & pepper to taste
3 C AP flour
2 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 C butter
1/2 C Milk
1/2 C buttermilk
1/3 C sour cream
1/8 teaspoons sugar
1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract

To make gravy:

Cook & crumble sausage. Do not drain.
Add enough flour to make a paste.
Pour in 1 C. milk whisking constantly. Add more milk and flour til it’s to desired consistency.
Add salt & pepper.
Let sit over low heat, stirring occasionally.

To make biscuits:
Combine 3 C. flour, 1 C. milk, & baking powder.
Cut in butter til crumbly.
Combine milk & rest of ingredients and add to dry mix, stir just until moistened.
Turn out onto lightly floured surface.
Knead a few times.
Roll to 1/2″ thk.
Cut w/ 2 1/2″ round cutter and place on lightly greased baking sheet. (We like big biscuits, but you can use any size cutter – I just use a big Easter egg cookie cutter)
Bake at 450 for 10 – 12 min.
Makes 10 – 12 biscuits.

I also sometimes make these biscuits from 50’s Housewife if I have self-rising flour on hand.  These are excellent and are very quick and easy to prepare.

Another favorite biscuit recipe that I use is Becky’s.  These are great and are wonderful with homemade apple butter.

I was gonna take pictures for y’all, but it’s Friday night and I ain’t making these til tomorrow.  We’ve got a busy day tomorrow and I know I won’t take the time out to take pictures while I’m cooking, but I think we all know what biscuits and gravy look like, right?

Sometimes I’ll serve these with scrambled eggs if I’m feeling especially hoggish that day, but usually I just serve it by itself since it’s very filling.

One thought on “Saturday Breakfast – Biscuits & Gravy

  1. Fencepost January 30, 2010 at 2:42 am Reply

    Oh yeah, nothing like a big fat cathead biscuit to go with that gravy!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

