Am I An Old Lady Trapped In A Young Woman’s Body?

I do believe that I may very well be.

Let’s just review the evidence:

1.  I do not like to drive on the interstate.  Give me good ol’ highways any day and country back roads where I can drive slow and look at all the scenery are even better.

2.  I almost always drive the speed limit.  Even when I’m in a hurry, I don’t go more than 5 miles over the speed limit.  I frequently get passed by other moms when taking the girls to school.

3.  I love to sit and crochet for hours and I really like making things for my loved ones.

4.  I am a serious homebody.  I love being at home (even though I often hate all of the inconveniences of this blasted old house!) and often when I am driving up the street towards my house, my heart literally flutters at the first glimpse of my home.

5.  I love old, traditional hymns.  That’s not to say that I don’t like the new stuff some, to a certain extent, but I really love the old hymns and I definitely prefer them over the new stuff.

6.  I also really love old country music, blue grass and gospel.  I couldn’t tell you any song that is popular with the kids right now.  Not one.  My radio just don’t get those stations.

7.  I have a much easier time talking to and making friends with people who are lots older than me.

8.  I have no idea if what I wear is in style.  Seriously.  I know what I like and that’s what I wear.  It’s probably all so last year or so 10 years ago, but I truly do not care.  If I like it I wear it, if I don’t I don’t.

9.  I love old houses and old cars.

10.  And finally…I have false teeth.

Okay, I’m kidding.  I don’t really love old cars.

Alright, fine, I do love old cars.  And my teeth are real.  I couldn’t think of anything to put for #10, but it just felt wrong to stop at 9.

So, I ask you, if I am like this now, at 34…what will I be like when I’m 80?

Probably six feet under, that’s what.  🙂

15 thoughts on “Am I An Old Lady Trapped In A Young Woman’s Body?

  1. Gretchen January 29, 2010 at 3:36 am Reply

    Um, I saw myself in pretty much everyone of those. I have to disagree with you on one point though, you always look very in style to me.

  2. Christy January 29, 2010 at 3:42 am Reply

    I’m telling ya….we got the same blood!…or wrinkles….or somethin’ like that! If I wouldn’t get a million stares at the grocery store, I’d probably dress just like Tasha Tudor…she’s just sooo cute! Don’t you think old ladies dress so cute?! Not the bendovers…I don’t like those. (and I know my husband is thanking the Good Lord for that!) I’m with ya on this one!!….I’ve even got the poppin’, creakin’, achin’ bones!! 🙂

    • klutzymama January 29, 2010 at 3:47 am Reply

      ha ha ha! what is a bendover??? whatever it is, it’s making me crack up and I don’t even know what it is yet! yes, I do love the way old ladies dress. they actually take time to make themselves look nice, even if it’s just for grocery shopping. sadly, I don’t really put a lot of effort into my grocery store attire, but I wish I did!

  3. The Prairie Homemaker January 29, 2010 at 4:49 am Reply

    Sweetie,
    Join the club. I am like you in most of those. However, I think I am old! Oldern you at any rate.

    I hope you are feeling better.
    hugs
    mel

    • klutzymama January 30, 2010 at 1:51 am Reply

      Thank you, Mel – I found out today that I have a sinus infection, but the antibiotics should take care of that soon, so I’ll be in great shape in no time!
      And my foot is feeling lots better – still very swollen, but much better pain-wise.

  4. Kim January 29, 2010 at 1:48 pm Reply

    What about old movies? They are the best. For the most part, they are kid friendly! Go Cary Grant, Spencer Tracy, Katherine Hepburn, and on, and on, and on!

    • klutzymama January 29, 2010 at 1:49 pm Reply

      Oh yeah!!! That could have been #10, I do love old movies. Thanks Kim!

  5. Christy January 29, 2010 at 2:59 pm Reply

    Bendovers are those polyester pants with elastic waists that are usually pulled up really high. Oh…and they come in a large variety of colors. One time my great aunt outgrew some of hers so she (for some reason) passed them on to me….hahahahaha….I should have saved them, I could have sent you a pair!! 🙂

    • klutzymama January 29, 2010 at 3:22 pm Reply

      HA!!!! Okay, gotcha. That’s hilarious! Maybe your aunt thought you’d look really awesome in those bendovers someday! ha ha ha ha!

  6. Tana January 29, 2010 at 3:55 pm Reply

    OMG!!! How are we related?
    And yes, you are an old lady stuck in a young woman’s body!! But I love all of those things about you, Sister!! Every single one of them.

    • klutzymama January 30, 2010 at 1:52 am Reply

      Aw, thanks sister.

  7. Fencepost January 30, 2010 at 3:14 am Reply

    We have got to be some kind of kin!!! You would not believe how many of those old lady things we have in common. Only difference…..I’m several years older than you. So I’m quickly being an old lady inside and out.
    And no, I am NOT aging gracefully. I just had to get reading glasses. I have never had to wear glasses. Is it the eyes or the mind that goes first? I can’t remember. tee hee

    • klutzymama January 30, 2010 at 3:17 am Reply

      well I wish I could shed some light on that for you, but I’ve always had bad eyes and always been a few cards short of a full deck, so I’m afraid I’m no help at all. 🙂

  8. shannon February 1, 2010 at 6:42 pm Reply

    I’m starting to feel like an old lady also. I almost always prefer staying home to going out, unless I’m going out for a yummy dinner and then coming right back home after. I go to bed before 10 pm most nights and get up early every day. And I (who has had over 5 speeding tickets, at least 3 being wreckless) drives VERY slowly now. I hardly ever even go the speed limit. My husband was just telling me this morning that whenever I drive us anywhere it takes 10 extra minutes to get there, and he doesn’t speed. ever. I’d prefer to think that I’m mature beyond my years, then think I’m an old lady.

    • klutzymama February 1, 2010 at 8:01 pm Reply

      That’s a great way of looking at it. Mature beyond my years, that’s what I’m gonna start saying for myself as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

