Potato Soup

Do you have a recipe that is all your own and that is frequently requested?

I don’t have many recipes that are all of my own making.  Well, there’s the Slap Your Mama Rice.  And a few others, but I usually just copy ones that I find online that sound good or tweak them slightly to our tastes.  There are a few that have been handed down through the family from my mom and mamaw.

But I have one that I actually can call my own.  And that’s potato soup.  Now I know that potato soup is very common and I’m sure I’m not the only person on the planet that makes it this way, but after several attempts to find the perfect recipe, I just made up my own because I wasn’t at all pleased with the results that I was getting.

Here in our little town, we have 2 little diners.  We do have a Subway and a Snappy Pizza, but they are on the outskirts.  We also have 2 gas stations.  That’s actually a lot I think considering that we have zero stoplights.  Anyway, one night we decided to head up to one of the diners for supper.  If you live in a small town, then you already know that if you eat at the diners or shop in the little stores, you usually end up paying an arm and a leg.  BUT the food in the diners is quite superb, in my opinion.  So, we are at the diner and I decide to order the potato soup.  To say that it was to die for would be a huge understatement.  It rocked my socks off.  And when I asked the waitress/owner what was in it, she just smiled and said that it was a secret family recipe.

So, that began my quest to find a recipe equal to it.  I checked all of the online recipe sites and tried many a recipe, but to no avail.

That’s when I decided to make my own.  It took me a couple of tries, but I finally got it just right.  This recipe was such a hit with my hubs.  And the rest of my family too.

And because I’m not a food snob, I’d like to share it with you!

Klutzy Mama’s Tater Soup

*Note – this soup has a bit of a kick to it.  But then that probably doesn’t come as a surprise.  You can use less of the pepper jack cheese or even do half pepper jack and half cheddar to tone it down some.*

10 C. potatoes, peeled & cubed
8 oz cream cheese
2 cans chicken broth (or more depending on the thickness you prefer)
1 C. carrot, chopped fine
1 C. celery, chopped fine
1 block pepper jack cheese, shredded or cubed (or 1/2 block pepper jack and 1/2 block cheddar)
6 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
1-2 green onions, chopped
salt, to taste
lots of freshly ground black pepper (or less, to taste)

Cook potatoes in broth for 30 mins.
Add rest and simmer til cheese is melted.

*Another note – this is very thick and cheesy, so if you prefer a thinner soup, you could decrease the amount of cheese or increase the amount of broth.  Or both.*

I think it’s the perfect cold weather food.

*One last note – I fixed this early today.  Brian wanted some to take for work and the girls and I were going to eat it for supper.  I’d love to share a picture of it with you, but unfortunately I was also trying to fix lunch at the same time and I burned it.  As in, when I took a bite it tasted like charred ashes.  I wanted to cry.  I love it so much, but I just can’t eat ashes.

Now, Brian on the other hand, he loves it so much that he said “That’s still good and I’m going to eat it.  Don’t throw it out.”

Okay honey, you go ahead and enjoy your ash soup.  The rest of us will pass.

11 thoughts on “Potato Soup

  1. Gretchen January 27, 2010 at 8:56 pm Reply

    Oh yes, can you believe I didn’t even get any of it at Christmas, but your mom was guarding it and EVERYONE was raving about it. Seriously everyone loved it. So I guess I will have to make it and see how awesome it is. You should enter it in a contest. I can never come up with things on my own. I just tweak stuff. Great job and sorry about your ash soup.

    • klutzymama January 27, 2010 at 8:57 pm Reply

      Oh I’m sorry you didn’t get any, I’ll make it for us when you come over! Sound okay?

  2. Lil January 27, 2010 at 9:29 pm Reply

    I love tater soup too. I am excited to give this a try. So far your recipes have been a hit with my family. Brian is such a good man to go ahead and eat that soup. Way to take one for the team!

  3. Jen January 27, 2010 at 9:39 pm Reply

    Wow! What a guy! This soup sounds amazing and I WILL be making it soon…just feels like soup weather.

  4. Fencepost January 27, 2010 at 10:54 pm Reply

    I LOVE tater soup!
    I’m definitely trying this! Got it copied down.

  5. Kim January 28, 2010 at 10:56 am Reply

    My guys loved your soup too. I made some too a couple of weeks ago but I didn’t have your recipe. I used a crock pot cheesy potato soup recipe I found on the internet. It sounds very similar to yours. Just replaced some of the cheddar with pepper jack. I added bacon and scallions too. They loved it. We have been having soup once a week. Last week it was Beef Barley vegetable in the crock pot. Mmmm.

    • klutzymama January 28, 2010 at 11:48 am Reply

      Yes, this is the perfect weather for soup, for sure!

  6. Susan January 29, 2010 at 3:22 am Reply

    I love potato soup too! I can’t wait to try yours it sounds great. It is funny because I just burnt a double batch of potato soup. I was so upset because it was a waste of money and yummy soup. It happens to the best of us!

    • klutzymama January 29, 2010 at 3:24 am Reply

      Susan, I know! It’s a tragedy isn’t it? I tried to eat it, but I couldn’t get past that nasty smoky taste. Such a shame.

  7. […] TATER SOUP – Klutzy Mama […]

  8. […] Mama shared a recipe for Potato Soup that I crave when it’s cold […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

