Adding Insult To Injury

A wise old Spinster recently said to me, “Klutzy Mama plus bad foot equals big time trouble.”

Truer words were never spoken.

Just yesterday there were 4 mishaps involving my foot.  All of them painful.

Well one of them actually ended up only being a close call.  Close enough to almost make me pee down my leg.  I was walking Katie into Girl Scout’s last night when this little girl comes tearing around the corner.  Running at me full speed, but looking behind her and not in front where she could have seen the woman in the bionic boot hobbling toward her with a look of sheer terror in her eyes.  That’s when it all started to go in slow motion.  I can see it happening, but I’m helpless to avoid it.  I tried to maneuver myself over to the side, but there was no time!  The little girl’s mom yells at her, “Leeeeeeaaaaaaahhhhhh!!!!”  and at the last second, she sees me and darts off to the side.  “Oh Mother of Pearl!” escapes from my trembling lips.  Her mother and I exchanged a knowing look of relief.  I thought maybe my luck was changing.

And I was wrong.

Hannah was running into the kitchen later on that night, tripped, and her knee landed like a javelin directly on the bum foot.  The beasts were playing around and fighting and they ran into Hannah who was sent catapulting across the room and landing, you guessed it, on my foot.  I was trying to hobble between my bed and the wall last night to get up to go to the bathroom and slammed the foot directly into the bottom of the footboard.  And then finally, the last injury of the night came when I was trying to get back up the stairs.  I went to take a step with the foot and jammed it on the stair, thus causing me to fall up the stairs.

I should have known that bad times were coming with this thing.  Especially considering that the moment I came out of the anesthesia, the nurse came bounding into the room and proceeded to run directly into my foot.  The big white bandaged thing that was hanging off the edge of the bed.  No idea how she missed seeing it.

So, you and I both know that all of these injuries to the bum foot are far from over.  I just hope that they will space themselves out enough to allow it to actually heal in time for spring.

Or summer.  Or…ah, forget it.

13 thoughts on “Adding Insult To Injury

  1. mel January 26, 2010 at 1:20 pm Reply

    Awe sweetie I am sorry.
    Nothing I can but empathize.
    hugs honey and prayers
    mel

    • klutzymama January 26, 2010 at 1:26 pm Reply

      Thanks Mel…at this point I just have to laugh. That is after I finish crying. 🙂

  2. Gretchen January 26, 2010 at 1:33 pm Reply

    Well, I guess this blog is called klutzymama for a reason. Maybe you should double wrap it in bubble tape when your bionic foot is not on.

    • klutzymama January 26, 2010 at 1:33 pm Reply

      THAT is a wonderful idea…and I’m not kidding. I may actually do this. 🙂

  3. Jen January 26, 2010 at 1:54 pm Reply

    The bubble wrap is a great idea! What about one of these bright orange bike flags as well. 🙂 I truly am sorry for your mishaps…must be painful AND frustrating!

    • klutzymama January 26, 2010 at 2:22 pm Reply

      Haaaaa! Yes! And a flashing light on my back too so everyone will know to stay out of my way! ha hahaaaa!

  4. The Cotton Wife January 26, 2010 at 3:32 pm Reply

    And a beeper… don’t forget the beeper.

    • klutzymama January 26, 2010 at 3:33 pm Reply

      Haha hahaaaa! You guys are cracking me up!

  5. Tana January 27, 2010 at 1:47 pm Reply

    I think you should just get a HumAround….yes….that would be great. Then you can get the orange flag and beeper and zoom around. Those commercial make them look so fun! HA!

    Love you!

    • klutzymama January 27, 2010 at 2:06 pm Reply

      yes! can’t you see me just tearing up the streets of Hope? there are actually 2 ladies here in town that go around on those things every day together. maybe they’d let me join their gang. 🙂

  6. Fencepost January 27, 2010 at 10:30 pm Reply

    I’m with the rest on the bubble wrap and flags, but forget the beeper….you need an AIR HORN! Get Nancy to stop at the Walmartz and pick you one of those canned air horns they sell in the boating dept. Oh, yeah, and tell him to pick you up some ear plugs, too. You might need those.

    • klutzymama January 27, 2010 at 10:32 pm Reply

      Ha! Yes, definitely an air horn…that’s so ME!

  7. shannon January 28, 2010 at 3:51 pm Reply

    You are cracking me up! Sorry to be laughing at your expense though. I thought that stuff only happened in movies!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

