Homemade Refried Beans

Susan requested the recipe for this, so I am happy to oblige. You can find the recipe at Kitchen Stewardship.  When I first started making these, I wanted to can them, but I was unable to find any reliable information that said it was safe to do.  I know there has to be a way, obviously, because you can buy them in a can, but I couldn’t find anything.  I did find on the Ball Home Canning forum a lot of people that said that you shouldn’t can them at home.  So for that reason, I just make them,  put them in ball jars (make sure you’re jars aren’t cold, at least room temp), once you’ve got the beans in the jars, Allow them to cool completely.  (This is important, you don’t want them exploding in the freezer).  Freeze and then just thaw them out in the fridge a day or two before you want to use them.

We eat lots of mexican dishes and these are truly the best refried beans I’ve ever had.

And here are 2 of our favorite ways to use the refried beans:

Loaded Nachos

1 jar refried beans
ground black pepper, to taste
1 clove garlic, minced
2 T. homemade taco seasoning (or 1 packet of store bought)
1 lb. ground beef
1/2 C. or more taco sauce
tortilla chips
2 C. monterey jack cheese or cheese of choice, shredded
sour cream
jalapeno peppers

Brown beef, drain,  add taco seasoning and 3/4 C. water (or follow package directions if using store bought).
Add taco sauce.
Layer chips on a large baking sheet and top w/ half of  refried beans.  (warm the beans in pan first to make them easier to work with)
Add 1/2 of beef.
Add layer of 1/2 of cheese.
Add layer of jalapenos.
Repeat all layers.
Broil til cheese is melted and top w/sour cream.

Mexican Pizzas

1 lb taco meat
1 jar refried beans, warmed
8 flour tortillas
shredded cheddar and monterey jack cheese
taco sauce
jalapeno pepper slices
canola oil
sour cream
green onions, chopped

Add 1/2″ oil to skillet and heat on med/high heat.
Add tortillas and cook on each side til crispy.
Drain on paper towels.
On 4 tortillas layer the following:  beans, beef, cheese
Top with 4 more tortillas and spread taco sauce on top.
Top with more cheese and jalapeno slices.

Bake at 350 for 8 – 10 minutes and garnish with sour cream and green onions.

YUM!

AND another thing!  After I said yesterday that I didn’t like making ketchup, I started searching and found a recipe that I am going to try.  It seems really simple, so if we like it, I will post it later.

Finally, I have to tell you that all that progress I thought I made yesterday turned out not to be so.  My foot is causing me lots of pain today and I know it is because I did too much yesterday.  Lesson learned and I will have to admit my disobedience tomorrow when I go to the doctor.  This is such a bummer because I really wanted to get a good report.  I am vowing to myself that I will stop trying to do more than I should no matter how badly I can’t stand doing nothing!

10 thoughts on “Homemade Refried Beans

  1. Tana January 20, 2010 at 6:49 pm Reply

    Recipes sound yummy!! Thanks for sharing.

    NOW sit down and relax, lady! Your foot will thank you!!

  2. Susan January 20, 2010 at 8:04 pm Reply

    Thanks! That is perfect for my family! I can’t wait to make your yummy recipes!

    • klutzymama January 20, 2010 at 8:15 pm Reply

      You bet! I hope you all enjoy!

  3. Lil January 20, 2010 at 9:01 pm Reply

    Yummy! I can’t wait to try these. Like you we eat lots of Mexican food. You can’t miss with it and no one snarls thier nose at me.

    • klutzymama January 20, 2010 at 9:07 pm Reply

      Let me know how you like them!

  4. Jen January 20, 2010 at 9:24 pm Reply

    Yum! Have you ever tried freezing in gallon size Zip Lock freezer bags? Fill bag and place flat on a cookie sheet….stick in the freezer and when completely frozen, they will stack either on their side or on their end like books. 🙂 I never seem to have enough room in my freezer and this seems to help a ton. Also, thanks for the laundry info yesterday! Now…go rest.

    • klutzymama January 20, 2010 at 9:49 pm Reply

      That’s a great tip, I will try that next time, because I don’t have much freezer space. Thanks!!!

  5. Christy January 20, 2010 at 10:59 pm Reply

    We love homemade refried beans too!! Take it easy on your foot!!!!! I’ll be praying you get a good report at the Dr. tomorrow!!

    • klutzymama January 20, 2010 at 11:07 pm Reply

      Thank you, Christy!

  6. It’s Raining Beans! « Klutzy Mama April 29, 2010 at 6:13 pm Reply

    […] I’m making a double batch of refried beans.  And I employ my trusty pressure canner.  Now I’ve not been canning long, so I still […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

