Making Some Progress

Today I actually got a few things accomplished.  And it felt good.  I know I can’t get up and clean and run around my house doing lots of little things that need done.  I have to plan my moves carefully.  Everything takes a lot longer to complete.  First I have to strap on the bionic boot.  That takes a little time.  Then I have to know the exact route that I’m going to take so that I can get as much done in the little time I have to be on my foot as possible.  I go back to the doctor on Thursday and I’m hoping for some miraculous statement like “Wow, Amee.  I’ve never seen someone’s foot heal so quickly from this surgery before.  It’s amazing.  Alert the media!  You now have my blessing to resume life as normal with no worries.”

Don’t laugh.  It could happen.

So today I peeled and cubed some potatoes and then put them in water in the fridge to wait there until supper time.  I’m going to make some smoked sausage and fried potatoes.  Then I checked my cast iron pans to make sure that they were in fighting condition and unfortunately they were not.  Brian, God love him, didn’t know that they can’t be “washed” with soap and water, so I took a few minutes to re-season them with some bacon grease then stuck them in the oven to bake for a couple of hours.  They should be good to go by supper time.

Not a huge accomplishment by any means.  That would normally be a miniscule fraction of my day, but today it was a huge accomplishment!

And because Shannon mentioned brownies in my post yesterday, it’s making me want them, so I may even try to make some Extreme Fudge Brownies if my foot allows.  I’ll leave the recipe for anyone who wants to try them.   I can’t remember where this tried and true recipe came from and I don’t know why they are extreme, unless you consider it extreme that eating one will immediately add 2 lbs to your body, which I do.  They are really good.  But we can all use a little indulgence once in a while, right?  Right!

Extreme Chocolate Fudge Brownies

1/3 cup butter
3/4 cup sugar
2 Tbs water
2 1/2 cups chocolate chips
1 tsp vanilla
2 each eggs
3/4 cup flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

1. Preheat to 325 & grease 8 x 8 dish.

2. In lg. saucepan over med heat, bring butter, sugar & water to boil. stir often til sugar is dissolved (3 min.)

3. Remove from heat, mix in 1 1/2 C. chips, stir til melted.

4. Beat in vanilla. carefully whisk in eggs.

5. Add dry ingredients & stir til moist.

6. add another cup choc. chips.

7. Bake 30min & check. Bake til sides just start to pull away from edge.


15 thoughts on “Making Some Progress

  1. Lil January 19, 2010 at 8:48 pm Reply

    Way to go Lillian! Some things accomplished is better than nothing at all. Make sure you don’t over do it though and set your healing time back a few weeks.

    Take care!

    • klutzymama January 19, 2010 at 8:49 pm Reply

      Thank you, Lil. 🙂

  2. Fencepost January 19, 2010 at 9:58 pm Reply

    Yay! Won’t be long you’ll be up and running.
    But I’m with Lil, be careful, don’t over do it!
    Thanks for the recipe!!!
    Oh yeah, thanks for reminding me….I need to reseason my iron skillet, too.

  3. SnoWhite January 20, 2010 at 2:55 am Reply

    that recipe for brownies sounds wonderful… might need to make an appearance soon 🙂

    • klutzymama January 20, 2010 at 2:16 pm Reply

      Thanks SnoWhite, let me know if you try them and how you like them.

  4. Tana January 20, 2010 at 1:03 pm Reply

    I am glad you are able to move around more now. That is great to hear! DONT OVER DO IT! I love you.

    • klutzymama January 20, 2010 at 2:15 pm Reply

      Thank you sis. 🙂

  5. mel January 20, 2010 at 1:54 pm Reply

    Baby steps are the key sweetie. You are doing great.
    hugs
    mel

    • klutzymama January 20, 2010 at 2:15 pm Reply

      Thanks Mel!

  6. shannon January 20, 2010 at 6:30 pm Reply

    thanks for posting the brownie recipe, i’ll have to give them a try!!!!

  7. shannon January 20, 2010 at 6:31 pm Reply

    by the way, i’ve never used a cast iron pan. what do you use yours for? how are they better than a stainless steel pan? i’ve heard them mentioned a lot, but i don’t know anything about them.

    • klutzymama January 20, 2010 at 6:42 pm Reply

      Shannon, I have 3 cast iron pans, small-med-lg, and I use them for just about everything. There are 2 reasons that I use them. #1 because I don’t trust non-stick coatings and #2 I love the way they maintain an even heat and lots of foods taste better in them to me. Basically, you season them or buy pre-seasoned ones and you don’t “wash” them. I have a plastic pampered chef flat scraper that I use to scrape them clean, then I wipe them out with a rag or paper towel. If food gets stuck on, then I fill the bottom of the pan with water and bring it to a boil on the stove. Pour out the water and the food easily scrapes off and can be wiped clean. It’s really important not to wash them with soap and not to let water sit in them or they will rust. They require periodic reseasoning and that usually depends on the number of times that you have to use water to get them clean. To season them, I melt a Tbsp. of bacon grease or any other oil in them, then use a paper towel to spread the oil all over the pan. Then I bake them at 300 for 2 hours. Each time I cook with mine and have cleaned it out, I pour a little bit of olive oil (like a tsp.) and then use a paper towel to spread it all over the pan. That way it’s ready to go for next time. The more you use them, the more seasoned they become and the better the food you prepare in them will taste. Hope this helps, you could do a google search for more information, but this is what I know based on my experience with them. I love them. I make everything in them.

  8. Sonshine March 4, 2010 at 8:32 pm Reply

    I thought I would come over and look around since you have left a couple of comments today on my blog. 🙂 I like what I see. 🙂 This brownie recipe looks really yummy! 🙂

    As for your question regarding bulk ground beef, I usually get whatever is on sale of the leaner meats(something around the 81% lean or higher). I am not a big fan of meat labeled “hamburger” but I will get the ground beef or ground chuck meat. My ball park price is anything $2/lb or lower! 🙂 HTH answer your question.

    • klutzymama March 4, 2010 at 9:06 pm Reply

      Thanks Sonshine, that does answer my question.

  9. Random « Klutzy Mama August 19, 2010 at 12:05 am Reply

    […] for them or something neat for us to do when they get home and finish their homework.  Today it is Extreme Fudge Chocolate Brownies.  And then I’m going to do their nails.   Um actually, today is a little over the top now […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

