Haiti

I’m sure that everyone is now aware of the earthquake in Haiti.  I’ve been watching a lot of TV now that I’m restricted to the couch and it is all over the news.

I don’t normally watch much of the news.  I don’t normally even watch any TV until the evening after the girls are in bed.  And then its usually just Andy Griffith or other shows I’ve recorded on my DVR.  But because I can’t do anything, I’ve been watching lots of TV.  And I can’t watch the news about Haiti without crying.  It is so sad.  The medical supplies that these people have on hand is so rudimentary and the injuries are devastating.  I heard this morning that they are estimating 50,000 dead.

I hate to admit this, but had it not been for the fact that I can’t do anything, I would never really understand what is happening there.  Yes, I would be aware of the situation.  And I would pray for the people in Haiti.  But it would probably stop there.  But because I am seeing over and over again the extent of this situation, I feel like I need to do something.  I can’t do much, but even the smallest amounts will go a long way.  That sounds cliche, but it is true.

So, I’m just posting a couple of links to sites that you can go to in order to make a donation.  We’re all aware of the American Red Cross.  They have a minimum set for donations at $10.  If you have less than $10 to give, you can go to Compassion International, Inc.  There is no minimum.  Please consider giving to this cause and pray for these people.

American Red Cross

Compassion International, Inc.

4 thoughts on “Haiti

  1. Tana January 15, 2010 at 5:42 pm Reply

    Thanks for posting the links sister! It is very sad what those people are going through.
    The power of prayer is amazing!
    Prayer is free…we can all do that!!!

  2. […] January 15, 2010 in Random, Uncategorized I am trying to keep this post light, but really just that we are alive and well today pretty much constitutes a good day.  Especially in light of so many who have lost their lives in Haiti.  For ways to help, please visit here and see what ways you can give.  My cousin also post some ways to help. […]

  3. Jen January 17, 2010 at 12:31 am Reply

    Prayers for all of those who are living the nightmare and those who are waiting for word from their loved ones. The pain is unimaginable. Thanks for the links.

  4. Kristi Smith January 17, 2010 at 2:24 am Reply

    I know, it is so sad. Not that far from home either. It could happen to us as well and we would want people to help us out. I can’t even imagine . . .

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

