Let’s Play The Book Game Again, Shall We?

Okay I admit it.  I have nothing to write about.  I’m tired of whining about my foot (please hold your applause) and nothing too exciting is happening around here that is blogworthy.

So, let’s play the book game!  Don’t remember it?  Well that’s okay, it was a while ago that we last played it.  You can refresh your memory here.

The game is easy.  Pick up whatever you’re reading or whatever the closest reading material to you is and turn to page 55 and read line 5.

I just finished a book last night and picked up another one this morning.  I don’t know a thing about this book.  I am a regular at our small town library.  I haven’t been there in a long time obviously because of my foot.  But they are so sweet!  They know me well, so they put together a little collection of books that they thought I might like.  So, I started one this morning.  It’s called Little Bee by Chris Cleave.  I can’t really tell you anything about it, so I can’t really say whether it’s good or not, but here is the 5th line from page 55.

“I do not tell people my name.  This way it is safer.”

Oooooh, mysterious!

Looks like I need to keep reading to find out what that’s all about.

Play along in the comments section if you like.  I promise to try and come up with something more interesting or at least something humorous soon!

15 thoughts on “Let’s Play The Book Game Again, Shall We?

  1. Kim January 13, 2010 at 7:22 pm Reply

    The book next to me right now says, “Vos estis defessi, servi. Cur?”
    It is Brad and Hope’s Latin book. They told me this line means, “You are tired, slaves. Why?”

    • klutzymama January 14, 2010 at 4:15 pm Reply

      Wow – that makes me want to find out more of what that story is about. Latin?! Man, your kids are so smart!!

  2. Kristi Smith January 14, 2010 at 4:29 am Reply

    Closest book I have is Pioneer Woman’s cookbook.

    And I just know that Marlboro Man, as the youngest of three boys in a ranching family, finally feels like he’s arrived.

    Pretty exciting stuff, Amee. lol

    I love that cookbook though. Favorite one I have.

    • klutzymama January 14, 2010 at 4:11 pm Reply

      Oh yeah – I’ve wanted to get her cookbook. Does she have simple recipes in there? Sometimes they seem a little involved, but everything I’ve ever made of hers has been fantastic!

  3. laura January 14, 2010 at 5:13 am Reply

    This is a good idea, one which I may shamelessly steal for my own blog some day when I have nothing blogworthy (which, let’s just admit, is ‘most days’, but I just write stuff anyway!)

    From Alias Grace, by Margaret Atwood (this month’s selection for the book club I hostess)
    “….monotony can sometimes be conducive to thought.”

    WOW – there you GO!
    hee hee,
    -Laura at TenThingsFarm

    • klutzymama January 14, 2010 at 4:10 pm Reply

      Ain’t that the truth!!! I think this is so fun and interesting to see what everyone is reading. Feel free to copy anytime!! 🙂 Thanks for playing along!

      • klutzymama January 14, 2010 at 4:17 pm

        When I said ain’t that the truth, I was responding to the line in your book – not to you saying that you don’t have anything blogworthy to write about! I don’t think that came out sounding right!! I love your blog! 🙂

  4. laura January 14, 2010 at 4:33 pm Reply

    Hee hee. No worries!

  5. Jen January 14, 2010 at 6:03 pm Reply

    I am getting ready to read William J. Bennet’ s “Book of Virtues”. “They went into the castle, and many servents were there, and”

    Great idea!

    • klutzymama January 14, 2010 at 7:24 pm Reply

      Can you tell me more about what that book is about? Sounds interesting just from one line…

  6. Jen January 15, 2010 at 3:57 am Reply

    It is a huge (818 pages) book that is a “Treasury of Great Moral Stories”. It is broken down into10 areas…Self Discipline, Compassion, Responsibility, friendship, work, courage, perseverance, honesty, loyalty and faith. Within each of these areas are short stories or essays (some familiar, some new) by different authors that are geared to teach children (and us) about those morals. Love it!

    • klutzymama January 15, 2010 at 2:50 pm Reply

      Wow, that sounds like a great book, I’m going to have to see if our library has it. Thanks!!

  7. Christy January 16, 2010 at 6:36 pm Reply

    I’m a little late but I still wanna play!! :).

    “Tune in to your food preparation, no matter how simple.”

    I’m reading “Naturally Thin”

    • klutzymama January 16, 2010 at 6:40 pm Reply

      I think that’s a great tip, very true!

  8. Kristi Smith January 17, 2010 at 2:23 am Reply

    There is simple recipes but you can get all the recipes that are in her book off her blog. I just love the cookbook though. It is so pretty and it is so her. I love all the pics.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

