Foot Update

I’m sure you’re just dying to hear more whining about my foot, right? 

Well here’s an update.  I hate my foot!!!

My recovery is going waaaaaaay slower than I expected.  I went to the doctor last week and got my stitches out and got cleared to start getting up in very small increments.  Like 10 minutes at a time.  Still can’t do stairs.  So I’m still sleeping on the couch.  (The couch from you-know-where!)

I tried to take a shower the other day and that was disastrous and ended with me bawling like a baby, so it’s back to baths with my foot propped up on the tub.

The Spinster told me I should put a picture of it on here without the bandages so you all could get the full effect of what I am dealing with, but because every time I look at it, it makes me want to puke, I’ve decided to spare you.  Just picture a 4 or 5″ long incision running down my foot, just under the big toe.  With lots and lots of swelling and bruising.  It looks like Frankenstein’s foot.  And it hurts.  A lot.

I thought maybe I might get cleared to be able to go to church at least, since I’m just sitting, but the doctor says that I can’t have it down that long.  It still has to be elevated with ice on it for the majority of the time.  So this new freedom I’ve been granted basically allows me to get up and walk around my house for a few minutes.  Yee Haw.  I go back to the doctor in 2 weeks.  I’m hoping for some major improvements between now and then!!!

AND the weird dreams are returning.  Last night I dreamt that my sister took me to the library in Columbus.  I had my cane and my bionic woman boot on, so I was moving real slow and she kept walking real fast and leaving me!  She even pushed me once!!!  I kept saying, “Don’t do that!  I’m crippled!  Can’t you see that?!”  And she would just laugh and run off. 

I think I’m finally going over the edge, people.

13 thoughts on “Foot Update

  1. Fencepost January 11, 2010 at 5:52 pm Reply

    I’m saying prayers for major improvement NOW!!!
    You picked the best time of year to have this surgery. Now you don’t need an excuse to not go out in the cold. That is unless you need to satisfy an urge to go to a library.
    If you do, put a leash on your sister and yank her back everytime she runs off. (think the foghorn leghorn dog reaching the end of his chain) tee hee

    • Amee Taylor January 11, 2010 at 6:44 pm Reply

      Thanks Becky. I hope it speeds up! Great idea about the leash too. I love Foghorn Leghorn!

  2. Jen January 11, 2010 at 6:18 pm Reply

    Ughgh!!! I would be going stir crazy too! Are you thinking of having a sofa burning party when you are up and away from it for good? Get better!

    • Amee Taylor January 11, 2010 at 6:41 pm Reply

      A sofa burning party!! I love it!

  3. Tana January 11, 2010 at 8:07 pm Reply

    Oh my goodness….. I would never do that to you. (when I was youger, maybe, but not now! LOL jkjk)

    I am so sorry you are having a hard time! That really stinks! I am praying for your quick recovery! Hang in there sister!
    I LOVE YOU!!

    • klutzymama January 11, 2010 at 9:33 pm Reply

      Thank you sis!

  4. shannon January 11, 2010 at 9:44 pm Reply

    Ugh, I’m sorry! Thanks for not putting a picture up, the description alone was enough to turn my stomach!

  5. Christy January 11, 2010 at 9:54 pm Reply

    I’m praying for your quick recovery too!!

  6. Gretchen January 11, 2010 at 10:31 pm Reply

    I had to laugh out loud at the Tana dream. I for one probably would have puked if you put a picture of your foot up. I know you are going insane and I am so sorry you are having to go through this. I am hoping for your speedy recovery soon too. I know this is no consolation but you really did have the surgery at a good time. Can you imagine sitting there in the middle of June and not being able to go outside or swim?

  7. Chris Tallent January 13, 2010 at 6:51 am Reply

    We can rig you up a pew so you can come to church 🙂 we sure do miss you guys! Adrianne was asking when Katie & Hannah were gonna be back. Tell them that she said hello! Still praying for you all….let us know if we can do anything for you.

    • klutzymama January 13, 2010 at 12:36 pm Reply

      Thanks Chris! I appreciate that. I thought of that too. I thought maybe if I sat in that back room, I could prop it up back there without making a spectacle of myself! 🙂 I will tell the girls, I know they are itching to get back too, they keep asking me when we’re gonna get to go back. I’m hoping after my visit next Friday that I’ll be much improved. I did pick Katie up from school yesterday. It was a total of about 20 mins that I didn’t have it elevated. It was throbbing pretty good by the time I got back home, but overall it wasn’t that bad, so that’s encouraging.

  8. Kristi Smith January 14, 2010 at 4:38 am Reply

    Maybe if you didn’t chase after dogs you would be healed by now . . . just sayin.

    😉

    • klutzymama January 14, 2010 at 4:10 pm Reply

      simmer down, now! you sound like my bratty sister! 🙂 Ha ha!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

