The Stripey Scarf

Have I said that I’m sick of my couch?  I have?  At least 5 million times?  Okay, sorry, but I really am sick of it.  In fact, I will even go so far as to say that once I am all healed up and back on my feet, I will never touch that couch again!  The next time I have to take cold medicine or something else that gives me nightmares, I will probably dream that I am being swallowed alive by that couch.

My poor family, no one is safe now from all of my crochet projects!  I’m so bored, you see, so I just sit around thinking of things that I can make.

Today I made this scarf for Hannah.

My mom got me the yarn a few weeks ago at Goodwill.  I wasn’t sure what to do with it, but I decided today that I would make my little Nanner a scarf since she doesn’t have one.  She loved it and I think it turned out well.

You can find that pattern here.  Because I was making it for a child, I only chained 120 instead of 274 in the beginning.  And if you ever plan on making one for a child, I would say that 120 was almost not enough.  If your child is 5 or younger, then it would be fine, but older than that, you’d probably want to increase to about 150 or so.  I also used a size J needle and the yarn I used was probably a little bit lighter weight than what the pattern called for.  But still, it turned out well, just not as bulky as the one pictured in the pattern.

18 thoughts on “The Stripey Scarf

  1. Lil January 4, 2010 at 8:21 pm Reply

    Aww, she is so cute. Look how happy you made her with that scraf. Good job mom!

    • klutzymama January 4, 2010 at 9:38 pm Reply

      Thanks, Lil!

  2. shannon January 4, 2010 at 10:42 pm Reply

    Super cute! I attempted to learn to crochet months ago, but never really stuck with it.

    • klutzymama January 4, 2010 at 11:08 pm Reply

      Shannon, I had a real hard time in the beginning when I was learning. My husband made fun of me because I just couldn’t get it and it was sooo frustrating! But I’m glad I stuck with it because it’s very therapeutic for me.

  3. Kim January 5, 2010 at 1:36 am Reply

    Very cute. We have been inspired by your creativity. Hope, Grace and I are going to try to sew some baby gifts for a friend who just had a baby.

    Cole, just came in and saw Hannah’s picture. He says “Hi” and the scarf is very nice.

    • klutzymama January 5, 2010 at 2:15 am Reply

      Kim!!!! I’m so glad to see you on here! Tell everybody we say Hi too. Thanks for visiting my blog, I hope you’ll come back again! 😀

  4. Kristi Smith January 5, 2010 at 3:25 am Reply

    I wish I knew how to do that! I would be a scarf making fool! So cute.

    • klutzymama January 7, 2010 at 1:40 am Reply

      You should try to learn Kristi, it’s really a very relaxing hobby. You’d probably really like it.

  5. Jen January 5, 2010 at 4:15 am Reply

    That scarf is too cute! Good job! I can hardly imagine how frustrating being stuck on the couch is. There will be no stopping you when you are up and around!

    • klutzymama January 7, 2010 at 1:39 am Reply

      Thanks Jen!

  6. Christy January 5, 2010 at 4:13 pm Reply

    I love it!!! After seeing your scarves my son has been begging me to make him a scarf….dare I try it?!?! You are inspiring me!! 🙂

    • klutzymama January 5, 2010 at 5:43 pm Reply

      Yes!! You can do it! It’s just like a pot holder only longer and skinnier! 🙂

  7. laura January 6, 2010 at 4:31 am Reply

    That’s so pretty! (cute little one too!). I got so much yarn for Christmas, but it’s all cotton, so I’m going to make dishcloths until the cows come home!

    • klutzymama January 7, 2010 at 1:39 am Reply

      Thanks Laura!

  8. Fencepost January 6, 2010 at 12:50 pm Reply

    Cute scarf!
    I never got into wearing scarfs, probably has something to do with the fact that I can’t stand all that bulk in the winter. But this year’s cold temps have me rethinking that.
    I’m curious to know when you and the couch can part ways? Soon I hope, before you lose you sanity! tee hee

    • klutzymama January 6, 2010 at 1:37 pm Reply

      Believe me Becky, my sanity has been pushed to the very edge (I was already pretty close to it to begin with anyway!). I go to the doctor on Friday morning to hopefully have my stitches removed and I’m also hoping he will clear me to start getting around a little bit.

  9. mel January 7, 2010 at 1:33 am Reply

    I love that scarf. Nanner is adorable in it!
    I totally understand being sick of the couch, or bed in my case.
    I love the scarf though, seriously you are talented. (I can not crochet at all!)
    hugs sweetie
    mel

    • klutzymama January 7, 2010 at 1:37 am Reply

      Thanks Mel! I love to crochet but usually find myself too busy to do it much. But now I’ve got nothin’ but time! 😀

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

