Homemade Christmas Gifts Links

Okay, I’ve been putting this off because it’s a lot of pictures and a lot of linking, but I’m really excited about the fact that I was able to make some really great gifts this year AND I was able to do it at a fraction of what I would normally spend.  My cousin also did a lot of homemade gifts and you can go here to see what she made.  I agree with her – this year I’m going to try to do a little bit each month to stay on top of it.  I don’t know that I will do all homemade gifts next year.  I think that if you have someone on your list who really appreciates and loves a homemade gift, then that’s great.  If you have someone who doesn’t really go for that kind of thing, I think that it’s silly to waste your time making something for them.  Which is why my step-son got cash.  🙂

Here we go!

This chapstick cozy is really easy.  I made one for the Spinster, myself and Katie bug.

Easy, delicious oreo truffles.

This hat for my mom.  She loved it and I think it looks adorable on her.  **If you click on the link, you may have to register with Lion Brand Yarns to see the pattern.  It’s free to register and you will get access to hundreds of free patterns.**

These hats and this scarf for my nieces and nephew.  *I didn’t use a pattern for the scarf, just made it using single crochets.

This hat & scarf for my sis.  *Again, no pattern on the scarf, I did the same as with my niece’s scarf only I made my sister’s a little wider.

Scarf for my MIL.

Purse organizer for my Mamaw.

Apple Butter & cookies for my dad and some other family members.  The cookies are a family favorite and this apple butter is so delicious and very easy to make in the crock pot and then can.  In fact, I made this in the crockpot the night before my foot surgery, then got up early and canned it in less than an hour before Brian took me to the hospital.  Super easy!

Crayon Roll for my friend’s son.

Tote bag for my friend’s daughter.

And then after Christmas, because I was  bored and had extra yarn, I made myself this hat.  Please excuse my hideousness…I am so SICK of being on the couch!!  (I used the same pattern for this hat as I did for my sister’s, but a different sized needle.)

13 thoughts on “Homemade Christmas Gifts Links

  1. Christy January 2, 2010 at 8:05 pm Reply

    You rock!! :). You did a great job on all of your projects! I sure wish you could teach me how to make a hat!! (I’m getting tired of the hot pads haha!!). I love the yarn you used for your sister’s hat and scarf!!

    • klutzymama January 2, 2010 at 8:11 pm Reply

      Christy, you should try the hat pattern that I used for my sister’s hat, it was very easy. Click on that link and see if you think it sounds like something you could do.

  2. Kristi Smith January 2, 2010 at 11:37 pm Reply

    I suck as a bloggy friend. I am sorry, didn’t know you had surgery. Hope your recovery starts going faster. Why did you have it around Christmas?

    I love all your presents. Esp. your mother’s hat. It is so cute!!!

    • klutzymama January 2, 2010 at 11:43 pm Reply

      Thanks Kristi. I had it at Christmas because the girls are out of school and Brian was off work. Since he just started this job, he doesn’t have a lot of vacation time built up yet, so he was off for a week because his company shuts down at Christmas. This way I didn’t have to worry about getting the girls to school for a little while and he was home to take care of me. But it does suck because right now they’re all at the ice skating rink and I’m still here laying on this blasted couch!!!

  3. LuAnn January 3, 2010 at 2:00 am Reply

    Your family totally scored with your homemade gifts. Good for you. I especially love your sister’s hat and scarf and am officially jealous! Great job….

    • klutzymama January 3, 2010 at 2:01 am Reply

      Thanks, LuAnn and thanks for visiting!

  4. Fencepost January 3, 2010 at 3:43 pm Reply

    That shows some pretty happy faces with the gifts they received! I know I would have been smiling,too!
    I will definitely be making some of these!
    Thanks for all the hard work with the links and pics.

  5. laura January 4, 2010 at 2:36 am Reply

    What lovely things you have made! I did more home-made things this year too – lots of edibles, a little crochet, etc. I think you’re smart to spread them over the year – I need to do that too.

    I saw in the post after this one that one of the children got Moon Sand. My friend sent my daughter a TON of it – and before we even knew what was happening it was everywhere. (she’s only four years old). It’s been designated an outside toy. 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    -Laura at TenThingsFarm

    • klutzymama January 4, 2010 at 2:38 am Reply

      Yes – the moon sand! It made a mess all over the dining room! Ha ha!

  6. mel January 4, 2010 at 4:44 am Reply

    You my dear are very talented!
    OOOOOOOOOOoo apple butter brings back memories of my kidhood!
    I hope you are doing ok and feeling ok.
    hugs
    mel

    • klutzymama January 4, 2010 at 5:11 pm Reply

      Thanks Mel, but I’m really not that talented. My sewing is MAJORLY in need of improvement and my crochet projects were very simple.

      I am doing pretty good, but the recovery is taking a lot longer than I expected. 😦

  7. Kristi Smith January 4, 2010 at 5:22 pm Reply

    Okay, that explains it. 🙂 Hope you are running in no time.

  8. shannon January 4, 2010 at 10:46 pm Reply

    I love them all, so glad that you finally shared!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

