Keepin’ It Real

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these posts…and as I sit here, wondering if I’m going to make my Christmas gift deadline or fail miserably, I’ve decided that rather than step away from the computer and get to work on finishing up  my gifts, I’ll blog instead.  Such a great work ethic I have.

So…let’s just keep it real, shall we?

1.  I have at least 6 or 7 more gifts to make this week, not to mention a bunch of food to make for school and Girl Scout Christmas parties.

2.  I am having surgery on my foot this Friday and will be out of commission for at least 8 weeks.  I am scared.  Scared like wanting to curl-up-into-the-fetal-position scared.

3.  Willie had to go to the vet recently because of a skin rash.  Turns out he has mange.  I’m thinking of changing his name to Mange.

4.  Buster has terrible allergies and has a constant odor because of it.  I’m thinking of changing his name to Stink.

5.  It is so cold in our house because we refuse to turn the heat up past 66, that I’ve resorted to sticking the girls socks on the end of the hair dryer and blasting them with hot air to warm up their toes!  Seriously, this old house is so drafty, we can’t afford to turn it up much higher!

6.  I recently stopped covering my greys.  For good.  Much to the dismay of some of my trendier friends.  I don’t like spending the money on it and honestly, I just don’t care much anymore about whether my hair is turning grey.  I’m 34…time to let it go.

7.  Now that Brian is working 2nd shift, I never make our bed anymore.  He’s still in it when I get up and by the time he gets up, I’ve moved past it and on to other things, there’s no way I’m stopping in the middle of the day to make the bed when I’m just gonna get back in it in a few hours.

8.  I’m really glad this year is almost over.  It has been filled with many ups and downs and lots and lots of blessings from the Lord, but I’m ready to have it gone.

And that’s about it, I guess.  Hope you enjoyed this latest installment of ‘Keepin’ It Real’.  Now I must  get on with the making of the gifts.  🙂

11 thoughts on “Keepin’ It Real

  1. Fencepost December 13, 2009 at 2:43 pm Reply

    What a terrible time to have surgery! I hope it heals quickly!!!
    I’m more than 10 years older than you and I haven’t started covering my grays yet. I don’t have a lot and my hair is lighter than yours, so they don’t show up well, but I keep threatening to have my hair highlighted to blend in with the gray, but I haven’t given in to that urge yet. But it’s coming! tee hee
    With My Captain being laid off part time, bed times differ every day. I usually make up the bed at some point during the day. But on the days I don’t, a friend or family member will show up and for some reason end up in my bedroom for one reason or another. But only on the days I don’t get the bed made. Drives me nuts!!!

    • klutzymama December 13, 2009 at 6:50 pm Reply

      I know Becky, it never fails for me too…when my house is a pit, I ALWAYS end up with company!

  2. kimberly tucker December 13, 2009 at 6:23 pm Reply

    I will give up coloring my hair when my 75 year old mother does, i think i am totally safe forever…with children that range in age from 21-2 yrs, gray is not an option for me. I like that i look a lot younger than i am, no gray helps…

    • klutzymama December 13, 2009 at 6:54 pm Reply

      Kimberly,
      Kudos to you and your mom. I think people need to do whatever works for them. One of my best friends is also my hairdresser and she literally groans out loud when cutting my hair because of all the greys I have going on up there! Part of me thinks I’m doing this just to drive her crazy. 😀

  3. Gretchen December 14, 2009 at 1:47 am Reply

    I love your keeping it real posts. I am wondering if I will make my deadline for gift making as well!

  4. shannon December 14, 2009 at 6:07 pm Reply

    Hope the gift making and surgery go well! I hardly ever make my bed, but I don’t even have an excuse for it. Although I always make it when we’re having people over, cause we live in a shotgun home and everyone has to walk through our bedroom to get to the bathroom.

  5. Tana December 14, 2009 at 9:44 pm Reply

    Marth, I mean Sister, I love you. And I know I am one of the people that hound you about coloring your hair so this will come as no shock to you…..Can I start a “Color My Sista’s Hair Fund” ?
    I love when you color your hair. Although, you always look beautiful, your hair is always so pretty and shiney when you have colored it. Having said that…I cant wait to shreek and eek at all your grays when I see you next! LOL! Man, you are lucky to have a lil sister like me! You know that right?
    And for those of you who dont know me well…I am the most vain person alive. I am literally drawn to the mirror section of every store I enter! HA! So for me to hear her say she shall not color, it hurts me!

    I LOVE YOU AMEE!

    • klutzymama December 14, 2009 at 9:46 pm Reply

      YOU ARE HILARIOUS! Color My Sista’s Hair Fund – that’s the greatest! Ha ha haha!

    • klutzymama December 14, 2009 at 9:47 pm Reply

      AND – I like how you said “Marth-, I mean Sister…”! Too funny, sister!

  6. Kristi Smith January 4, 2010 at 5:29 pm Reply

    I have a feeling you won’t stick to not coloring your hair. I have a friend who did this. Yep, she is coloring again and she is just as saving as you and lives in the country where hardly anyone ever sees her. 🙂

    • klutzymama January 4, 2010 at 6:48 pm Reply

      You are probably right, I am already starting to question it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

