Tote Bag Gift

I made this tote bag last night for my friend’s daughter.  It was safe to show this one since the daughter doesn’t read my blog. 🙂

This was my first time to make something by myself without someone helping me.  And I was very frustrated, to say the least.  There was lots of fake cussing under my breath, threatening to drop-kick the sewing machine out the window, millions of frantic emails to Gretchen and even some vowing to never sew another single thing again, BUT I really like how it turned out.   It isn’t perfect and if you could see it in person, you would know that, but I think it is great for a little girl’s gift.  I’m going to fill it with pens, markers, paper, crayons and drawing paper.

And Gretchen promised me that sewing will get easier the more I do it.  😀

And here are a few more gifts that are safe to show now…

This hat for my mom - she's already seen it, so it's okay. 🙂

These purse organizers were actually pretty easy.  Well, they are easy for normal people.  Everything I attempt is hard for me, but I’m not normal.  I love these!  You just put your stuff in them, like your cell phone, lipstick, keys, etc…and then you just roll them up and stick them down in your purse.  And if you use interfacing with them, they will hold their shape when you remove stuff, so you can take things out and put them back in without having to unroll the whole thing.  Love it!

Purse organizers

12 thoughts on “Tote Bag Gift

  1. Fencepost December 3, 2009 at 2:33 pm Reply

    That tote is adorable!
    You made that hat with the flower, too?! Crochet or knit?
    And you should do a tutorial on those organizers! I, for one, would love to make them for gifts.

    • klutzymama December 3, 2009 at 2:44 pm Reply

      Thanks Becky! The hat was crochet and I had to have my aunt T help me on the flowers because I’d never made them before. I meant to link to the tutorial for the purse organizers…I’m gonna have to check to see if the link worked.

    • klutzymama December 3, 2009 at 2:45 pm Reply

      Okay yes the link is working, if you click on the link above, it will take you to the tutorial for the purse organizer.

  2. Lil December 3, 2009 at 7:04 pm Reply

    So cute! Thanks for sharing and I love the whole Christmas theme. The snow is very festive.

  3. Tana December 3, 2009 at 7:23 pm Reply

    I love the tote. The organizer is too cute! And the model is adorable!! LOL!

    • klutzymama December 3, 2009 at 7:25 pm Reply

      That’s what her daddy said, too!

  4. Jen December 3, 2009 at 10:43 pm Reply

    You should be so proud of yourself! Great job!

  5. Gretchen December 5, 2009 at 3:48 am Reply

    I love the hat! I want one. Can you make me one and then I will sew you an apron or something? It is so cute.

    • klutzymama December 5, 2009 at 12:12 pm Reply

      Of course I can! You’ll have to let me know what color you want. I’ll send you a link to the pattern and at the bottom it will have all of the different colors that that type of yarn comes in.

  6. Fencepost December 5, 2009 at 3:48 pm Reply

    Oh geez! Was that link there before and I missed it?!
    I got it and it’s printing now.

  7. shannon December 7, 2009 at 4:40 pm Reply

    I love those purse organizers, what a great idea! I need one for my gigantic purse that I carry around!

  8. Kristi Smith December 12, 2009 at 7:21 pm Reply

    Wow! Great job! I know, I am behind on blog reading again! Oh . . . am I supposed to blog too? lol

    I love your projects! And that hat is super, super cute!!! Impressive!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

