A Frugal Christmas

JO049

This year is shaping up to be the least stressful Christmas of my life!  I am so thrilled.

First of all, everyone on my list is getting homemade gifts.  Whether they be crocheted, sewn or edible.  Except my step-son.  He’s probably getting cash because I really couldn’t think of anything to make him that he would like.  I’ve already got one gift completed and several more to try to squeeze in before Christmas.  The question is: Will I be able to get them all done in time?  We shall see.

AND instead of buying the girls lots of expensive presents that we can’t afford, we’ve decided to get them each one gift and then as a family we will go and select a name from the angel tree and buy a less fortunate child some Christmas gifts.  I have to tell you that I was scared to bring this idea up.  I had visions of the girls crying and looking at me as if I had shot their dog.  But neither one of them batted an eye.  They agreed without even a flinch.  Which made me really proud of them.

So, as I said, I feel like this is going to be a very low stress Christmas.  Easier on the old wallet and I won’t have to get out into the craziness of Christmas shoppers, so that’s a HUGE plus for me!

I will post pictures of everything after Christmas.  Several of the gift recipients read this blog, so I’d better wait til then to show you.  And I may not be posting as often as I will be working my fingers to the bone to try and get them all done.  Oh I hope I get them all done!  Okay, so there might be a tiny bit of stress involved this year.  😀

8 thoughts on “A Frugal Christmas

  1. Gretchen November 15, 2009 at 10:36 pm Reply

    I love this idea (you know I do). To give the girls one present and then pick out something from the angel tree is so sweet. I may have to rethink what we were going to do.

  2. Christy November 16, 2009 at 3:18 am Reply

    Everyone will love your homemade items!!! Homemade always means so much more!! That is so sweet that your girls are so into that idea!! They will always remember doing that! Don’t stress Mrs. Claus….you’ll get it all done!! 😉

  3. Fencepost November 16, 2009 at 12:47 pm Reply

    I have no doubt that you will get it all done!
    And make an underprivledged child smile on Christmas morning, too.
    You are teaching the girls well. There should be more people like you in this world!

  4. laura November 17, 2009 at 5:15 am Reply

    This is brilliant! I have been gathering stuff all through the year for my daughter at thrift stores, sales, etc…and I realized the other night that it’s too much. So daddy and I are going to ‘shop the stash’, then angel tree the rest of it. Great minds think alike! 🙂

    We are doing a great many home-made gifts this year as well.

  5. shannon November 17, 2009 at 3:28 pm Reply

    I can’t wait to see what you come up with! I love making gifts, but always have a hard time figuring out what to make for the guys on my list.

    • klutzymama November 17, 2009 at 3:31 pm Reply

      Shannon, Yeah, guys are tough. My guy won’t wear a scarf, neither will my dad or step-son. They’ve already got hats, so that’s out. Most of the men on my list are getting edible gifts. Homemade salsa and chips, cookies, and homemade apple butter. And maybe some oreo truffles. I figure you can’t go wrong when you give them a gift that allows them to stuff their faces. 🙂

  6. Kristi Smith December 1, 2009 at 2:48 pm Reply

    I think I love you. 🙂

    • klutzymama December 1, 2009 at 8:22 pm Reply

      And I love you! And I’m so glad to see you back in blogland, I’ve missed you.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

