The Po Man’s Supper

I know you all probably have a tried & true recipe for this already, but we love this meal so much that it is a regular on our menu.  And because we is po and this is cheap and easy, I really want to feature it today and give it some love!

It’s just your basic smoked sausage & fried taters recipe.  It is so cheap, especially when smoked sausage goes on a B1G1 sale at Kroger.  And yet, when the children (and husband) find out that I’m making it, you would think that they were preparing to feast at a royal ball.  Lots of cheers and applause ring out into the air and they hoist me up onto their shoulders and chant “Mama! Mama!”.  I swear they do.  Honest.

Anyway, on with the show!

First you got to get you about 5 big taters. (I only used 4 this time because it was just me and the girls eating)  Scrub ’em up and cover them with water in a big pot and boil until they are tender.  This usually takes about 25 minutes.

101_4455

While your taters are berlin’, you dice or chop up an onion.  I used half an onion this time because that’s what I had.

101_4457

Once your taters are done, remove them and chop them up to whatever size you like them.  On this particular day, I berled ’em a tad too long and they were a little too soft, but the heathens that live here will eat them up so fast that no one will be the wiser!

Heat your handy dandy cast iron skillet over medium/low heat and add 2 T. or so of bacon grease.

101_4456

Once your skillet is nice & hot, add your onions and cook them until they are brownish and yummy.  Then remove and set aside.

101_4459

Mmmmm…brownish and yummy!

101_4463

Next add in your taters and season with whatever you like.  We use salt, pepper, a smidge of garlic powder and a smadge of seasoned salt.

Let the taters sit for a bit and get nice and crispy on one side, then flip ’em & repeat.

While the taters crisping up nicely, you can slice up your sausage.  Yes, I sliced my sausage on the same cutting board that I diced the taters on and I did not rinse it first.  Don’t judge me.

101_4470

When your taters are done how you like them, throw the onions back in along with the sausage and cover.  Turn off the burner and let the sausage cook to however done you like it.  You can stir it around a bit here and there if you like.

101_4481

101_4482

And there you have it!  Some awesome comfort food for this time of year, don’t ya think?

101_4485

8 thoughts on “The Po Man’s Supper

  1. Fencepost November 10, 2009 at 1:54 am Reply

    Funny! We had the same thing for supper last evening. I do it a little differently, but it ends up the same. See……we are sistas!!!

    • klutzymama November 10, 2009 at 2:12 am Reply

      Freaky…I wonder if I stubbed my toe if you would feel the pain too! Ha ha ha! 🙂

  2. SnoWhite November 10, 2009 at 4:49 pm Reply

    Simple but really yummy!

    By the way, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the pasta and the bread sticks 🙂

  3. Christy November 10, 2009 at 5:38 pm Reply

    I fix that too…crazy…we had that Saturday!! ;). I add green beans to mine. We live close to Silver Dollar City (Branson) and they fix this and sell it for $7 a plate…it ain’t no po’ man’s dinner around here! :). (They call it ‘country skillet so that’s what we call it)

  4. heathermiller November 10, 2009 at 7:11 pm Reply

    I make that dish too! I call it sausage pot. I throw in peeled potatoes that are cut up, green beans, and sausage. Then boil. The sausage seasons the green beans and the potatoes are delicious! It is a one pot meal and super easy clean up. My boys gobble it up.

  5. Heidi @ Indy Photography November 12, 2009 at 11:38 pm Reply

    Mmmm, one of my faves. Why have I never made this?!

  6. shannon November 17, 2009 at 3:57 pm Reply

    I NEED a cast iron skillet! I’ve never had this dinner, but think I’ll have to try it. I usually serve smoked sausage, sauteed with red onion, colored bell peppers, garlic and red pepper flakes, and serve it with a side of pierogies, but potatoes are much more frugal!

    • klutzymama November 17, 2009 at 4:33 pm Reply

      Your recipe sounds really good too, my husband would love that! I love my cast iron skillets. They are kinda pricey, I have a small, med, and large one. But you can’t beat the flavor you get when cooking with them. You have to be careful with them when you use them because you can’t really “wash” them. I’ve finally mastered getting the perfect “season” on them, but it took me quite a bit of trial and error to get it down. But once you’ve figured that out, they’re just awesome.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

