Nemesis

I HATE YOU, CAMEL CRICKETS.  EVERY LAST ONE OF YOU.

This guy was on the wall in my basement.  He was the size of a small mouse.  I kid you not.

101_4409

Sometimes I am a prisoner in my own home.  If the sun goes down and there happens to be laundry down in the basement that needs changed over, I often find myself standing at the top of the basement stairs.  Looking down into the black abyss.  Dreading having to go down there where the camel crickets rule the night.  Where they wait for me with their big bubble-like bodies and long, gangly legs.

I can go down there a million times during the day, but as soon as dark hits, the freaks come out in full force.

I hate them.

5 thoughts on “Nemesis

  1. Fencepost November 5, 2009 at 1:00 pm Reply

    Camel crickets and spiders. God should rid the earth of their existence!!!! Oh, and cows, too. tee hee

  2. Kathy November 5, 2009 at 1:50 pm Reply

    I know how you you feel,believe me! When I lived in Southern Maryland,our bedroom was in the basement . We used to get them in the crawl space(storage area under the house)& we would get them in the master bath(usually in the sink) Nothing says SUPRISE!!! like turning on the light & seeing one ready to pounce on you. My DH thought I was over exagerating(men)

    When we moved 3 years ago, I thought I had left them behind. I haven’t seen one in 3 years! So, what did I see a few days ago???? ONE OF THEM-and you know there are more(they travel in herds)
    I t was in my screened in porch,so it’s cold back there. That is the only reason I was able to get a grip & beat the crap out of it. It felt sooooo good to do that(I felt so brave)

    Just a random thought: they look like a cross between a cricket & a spider — got to wonder what mother nature was thinking when she allowed that process to happen.

    • klutzymama November 5, 2009 at 1:55 pm Reply

      Kathy, you crack me up! You sound just like me and the Spinster. We hate them with a passion and actually have serious, lengthy conversations about how much we hate them and how gross they are!!! 🙂

  3. shannon November 5, 2009 at 3:59 pm Reply

    Yikes, I’ve never seen anything like that!!! Gross! Equally gross to the nasty roaches down here!

  4. The Old Yeller Salt Box | Klutzy Mama January 28, 2011 at 10:43 pm Reply

    […] the beams.  Just trust me, they’re old and big.  And cool.   Plus, that’s where the camel crickets live and you already know how I feel about […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

