Brian’s Chili

If you  like hot & spicy, then this is the chili recipe for you.  I’ll do my best to put it in recipe format, but I’m pretty sure he just kinda eyeballs it.

Warning:  This chili is hot. Very very very very very very very hot!

BRIAN’S MAKE-YOUR-EARS-BLEED-AND-CAUSE-YOU-TO-LOSE-VISION-IN-YOUR-RIGHT-EYE CHILI

1.5 to 2lbs ground beef
1 lg. can tomato sauce
1 med. size can hot chili beans (not the smallest one and not the great big one)
1 pkg. hot chili seasoning
red pepper flakes
cayenne pepper
tobasco sauce
habanero peppers, chopped fine (if you dare)

Brown and drain the ground beef.  While it’s cooking, add sauce, beans and chili seasoning to lg. pot
Cover the mixture with a layer of red pepper flakes
Cover that with a layer of cayenne pepper
Several shakes of the tobasco bottle
Throw in the habaneros and say a prayer that you will live to tell the tale of how you survived this chili
Add in the ground beef and mix well
Cover and let cook on lowish/med  for an hour or longer.  The longer it cooks, the better (and hotter) it is.

This will make a very thick & hearty chili.  Not at all soupy.  We don’t do soupy chili here.

This chili is so hot that it has been known to make tears stream down my face while eating it, so be careful.  In fact, there are only 4 people to date who can actually eat it and live and that would be me, Brian, the Spinster & my dad.

We grew habaneros in our garden this year, so he used them a lot for chili, they’re all gone now (thank goodness), so I may actually be able to start eating a bowl without having to down 4 glasses of ice water in the process.  They’re supposed to be the hottest peppers in the world and I believe it! Obviously you can tone down the hot stuff to your liking.

We have a weekly tradition on Sundays during the fall/winter football season and that is chili and football watching.  Can’t have one without the other.

And when you’re done with your piping hot bowl of chili, don’t do this…

101_2258

Do this…

101_4599

101_4600

You’ll work off some of that chili and you will feel better.  Trust me.

But whatever you do, don’t enlist your 4-year old to help with the raking because she’ll just do this…

101_4607

101_4605

101_4603

And then after a little while, you’ll look around and not see her, start to freak out, then find this…

101_4610

Have a great weekend and don’t forget to tune in Monday for the first installment of Move Your Butt!!  🙂


5 thoughts on “Brian’s Chili

  1. Christy November 6, 2009 at 2:09 am Reply

    My husband would love this! I usually make him his own salsa with habaneros, because he loves them! I’ll try it, and put the habeneros on the side for whoever wants to make their ears bleed and lose vision! (You crack me up!! I think I’m finally starting to realize where Hannah gets it!!)

    • klutzymama November 6, 2009 at 2:15 am Reply

      Ha! Speaking of Hannah, she was trying to run up the stairs today and she tripped and fell up them (wonder where she gets that) and she was all cryin’ and saying “I fell! I hurt my heart! I jammed it on the stairs!” It was so hard not to laugh at that!

  2. Fencepost November 6, 2009 at 3:49 pm Reply

    I’ll leave this recipe for you to enjoy. I don’t do HOT.
    But I agree with the no napping thing. I would help with those leaves, but I would be 4 years old again when the pile got big. It’s just too tempting!!!

  3. The Pleasures of Homemaking November 7, 2009 at 3:02 am Reply

    Good golly! That looks hot hot hot! My husband would love this. He likes his food spicy!

    Manuela

  4. Kristi Smith November 8, 2009 at 5:37 pm Reply

    I think my butt will be grateful if I pass on this recipe. 🙂

    Cute pics. It’s like she stuck leaf glue all over her in that one pic.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

