Halp! Halp!

I need some help, girls.  I have 2 girls who don’t like to eat breakfast. Or at least not until like an hour or two after they get up.

This poses a problem for a couple of reasons.  We have to leave to get Katie to school at 7:50 in the morning.  So, I’ve resorted to letting her eat breakfast at school because by the time she gets there, she has an appetite.  I’ve tried waking her up earlier so that she’ll be hungry by the time breakfast is ready, but that backfired and resulted in a grumpy girl who still wasn’t hungry.

So she eats at school now.  I know, I know, you’re probably gasping and falling on the floor at the idea of a kid eating the food they serve at school, but I don’t know what else to do and she likes it and it’s only 50 cents a day for her to eat breakfast there.  A small price to pay for my peace of mind in knowing that she’s actually eating something in the morning.

And for Hannah, it’s not a problem on Tuesdays and Thursdays because she doesn’t have preschool on those days, so I have the time to let her wait until she’s hungry.  But on Mon, Weds & Friday, I have the same dilemma as with Katie.

Any suggestions?  And I can’t find anything that they want to eat besides cereal or doughnuts.  I don’t buy doughnuts and the cereal that they like is terrible for them.  I’ve tried fruit and bacon & eggs, but they just don’t want it.  And I understand because I can’t really eat fruit in the morning either.  I like fruit, but the thought of it in the morning makes me want to gag for some reason.

Should I just let them eat the cereal?  I mean at least they’re eating something. Or should I keep putting food in front of them that they won’t eat that ends up in the trash?  Okay, I know I shouldn’t do the second option because every time I do it, I cringe at the dollar signs I see going into the trash can, but seriously, I don’t know what to do about it.

I’ve tried cinnamon rolls (Katie loves them, but Hannah hates them – and seriously, what’s the difference between that and a doughnut?), toast with peanut butter, toast with cinnamon & butter, eggs, sausage, bacon…it’s driving me mad, I tell you!  And if I get lucky and find one thing that one likes then it is certain that the other one won’t, so them I’m left fixing 2 different breakfasts, which I refuse to do now.

I know some people just aren’t big breakfast eaters, so maybe I should just let it go and feed them what they’ll eat…???

Does anyone else have this problem?  Do you have any suggestions for me at all?

14 thoughts on “Halp! Halp!

  1. Christy October 8, 2009 at 8:49 pm Reply

    Here’s my 2 cents worth…..Have you tried muffins (if you google it there are millions of different kinds of homemade) or if they’d eat granola bars, that might be somewhat healthy (it sounds like you’ve tried just about everything!)….if that doesn’t work then I say let Katie eat at school. I think they really need to eat something for breakfast…whatever it is…wherever it is. That’s my 2 cents (ok…maybe only 1 cent…but there u go!) 😉

  2. klutzymama October 8, 2009 at 9:07 pm Reply

    Christy,
    Thank you for your 2 cents! Actually I have tried muffins, but only a couple of different kinds, so maybe I need to do a little more research and see if I can’t find something else that they might like. And also granola bars, which neither of them like (but which I love and eat most of!). I think I need to look more into different kinds of muffins and give that a try. Thanks!

  3. Fencepost October 8, 2009 at 9:39 pm Reply

    I can’t eat until I’m up for a couple of hours. Then I can eat anything, healthy or not.
    My stomach is a little queasy in the mornings. My son is the same. But…..I have found that milk coats my stomach. My son eats four pieces of toast with butter each morning with a glass of chocolate milk. Not the greatest breakfast, but it is something in his stomach. Tests show that children who eat breakfast do better in school. I say….let them eat whatever you can get in them in the morning, even if it is at school. Worry about healthier food for lunch, supper and snack or on the days they are home.
    And there’s my two cents. tee hee

    • klutzymama October 9, 2009 at 1:24 pm Reply

      Thanks Beck! I am feeling like you are right. As long as they eat something, that’s better than nothing. And I can work more on lunch and supper at making sure it’s more nutritious. Your 2 cents is greatly appreciated!

  4. Kathy October 9, 2009 at 2:27 pm Reply

    Well, I went through the same thing last year w/my granddaughter(she was 5) . I found that she wasn’t a traditional breakfast food eater,so we mixed it up a bit. Sometimes we had cucumbers & carrots, another day dry cerial (served in a sandwitch, baggie), dry toast,whatever she wanted. A lot of times she ate this in the car on the way to school,because she wasn’t hungry when I wanted to make her breakfast. This year she is eating before we leave,but I leave the menu up to her. Hope this helps.

    • klutzymama October 10, 2009 at 11:59 am Reply

      Thanks Kathy, it seems like we’re all pretty much on the same page about it. As long as they eat, it’s better than nothing! 🙂

  5. Kristi Smith October 10, 2009 at 3:36 am Reply

    Totally agree with Fenceposts. I used to never eat breakfast because of my stomach. The older I have become, the easier it has been for me to eat breakfast.

    I sometimes let Cole eat peanut butter crackers for breakfast, and sometimes he eats things a lot worse than that. I am not even going to tell you the things I have let him eat. As long as he gets something in there.

    Nothing wrong with her eating at school either!!!

    • klutzymama October 10, 2009 at 12:01 pm Reply

      Kristi,
      I’m glad to know that so many are in agreement on it. I have a tendency to freak out about things and think that my kids aren’t getting enough nutrition…I probably just need to get a grip. I’m pretty sure we ate chocolate doughnuts every day for breakfast when I was a kid! Ha! Thanks for your input!

  6. Gretchen October 12, 2009 at 3:32 am Reply

    Well, I am very bad about breakfast on preschool days. I let Isaac have goldfish in a ziplock bag on the way to school. On non-school days we do cereal, eggs and bacon, but mostly pancakes and some fruit. I used to love eggo waffles with peanut butter and jelly in between – would the girls like that? I would have to agree that Katie eating at school isn’t horrible. I know a lot of kids don’t like to eat as soon as they get up. Mine are like that as well. I also have a recipe for blueberry breakfast bars that are so yummy but I don’t know if that would help or not.

  7. Molly October 20, 2009 at 5:40 pm Reply

    What about a shake or smoothie? If they don’t want to eat, maybe they won’t mind drinking something healthy.

    • klutzymama October 20, 2009 at 6:27 pm Reply

      Molly,
      I hadn’t even thought about smoothies, but that’s a great idea…I’m going to give it a try! Thanks!

  8. Jen October 24, 2009 at 3:33 am Reply

    I love your blog and have been lurking for awhile. My kids love a smoothie on those days when we are in a hurry. I keep sliced bananas in the freezer all the time. Grab 4-5 slices and through in a blender…add a spoonful of plain or vanilla yogurt and a dry packet of Carnation Instant Breakfast mix.(any flavor)…add 1/2-3/4 cup milk and blend until smooth..you get a great thick shake that actually is good for them. They can even drink it in the car on the way to school. Hope that helps

    • klutzymama October 26, 2009 at 1:49 pm Reply

      Jen,
      Thanks for delurking! 🙂
      Thank you also for the smoothie recipe, I think that this might be the answer I was looking for!
      Now I’m off to check out your blog, have a great day!

  9. […] am tired of wasting money and throwing food away.  You all gave me some great ideas after I posted this a couple of years ago.  But still, they don’t want to eat and when I put food in front of […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

