Slop

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted a recipe, so I decided to share one of our family favorites.  We call it Slop, but it’s really just a simple mexican casserole.  And I’ve never really measured stuff out, but I’ll try to give it my best guess.  It is a very simple meal, but it is a big hit at our house.  You could add some mexican rice on the side (but we usually just eat it alone) and you could also add more ingredients to suit your family’s tastes.  But here’s how we do it:

1 lb. ground beef
3/4 C. water
2 T. homemade taco seasoning (or 1 packet of store bought)
2 C. or more of shredded cheese of your choice
homemade enchilada sauce (or 2 cans store bought)
1 can refried beans
flour tortillas

Cook & drain beef, add seasoning and water, simmer 5 min.
Combine beef, refried beans and 1 can enchilada sauce
Spray baking dish with cooking spray and add layer of tortillas
Spoon some enchilada sauce onto tortillas and spread to cover
Add layer of beef mixture and cover with layer of cheese
Repeat layers of tortillas, meat & cheese.

Cover & bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until hot & bubbly.  Garnish with tomatoes, sour cream, green onions, etc…

Let me know if you try it and if you enjoy this yummy slop!

5 thoughts on “Slop

  1. Christy October 5, 2009 at 10:16 pm Reply

    I just made something real similar to this the other night. Everything was the same except for mine didn’t have the refried beans but it had cream of chicken soup instead. We love beans so I’ll have to give ‘slop’ a try!! And of course the interesting names you give your recipes always makes them fun to eat around here!!! 😉

  2. Fencepost October 6, 2009 at 1:03 am Reply

    My Captain would love this. But I would not love adding those refried beans to his. When I spring this on him, I’ll just have to omit those beans. He’ll never miss them and I’ll breathe freely.

  3. Gretchen October 6, 2009 at 2:46 am Reply

    I may try this instead of my usual Enchilada Casserole. I think you could call your’s Enchilada Casserole instead of slop. Do you all just love giving gross names to your food – slop, puke on a plate – I am sensing some themes here.

  4. shannon October 14, 2009 at 4:26 pm Reply

    Sounds yummy and similar to my Mexican Lasagna, but slop is a way better name! 😉

    • klutzymama October 14, 2009 at 5:58 pm Reply

      I like to gross my family out whenever possible, so I try to get real creative with the names!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

