Here Me Is!

So sorry friends for being gone so long.  I guess I really needed that break from blogging.  But I’m back now and will posting regularly again.

Life has been good lately and the girls are getting settled into their school routines.  We’ve got our house up for sale now and so that’s always fun trying to keep the house in “showing” condition while trying to manage life at the same time.

But now you can sit back, relax and listen to my many tales.  Tales of old ladies, baptism, and ugly pies!

First up on the list is old ladies!  My sweet mamaw turned 70 recently and to celebrate we had a pie baking contest and family kick ball game.  It was a great time.  Mamaw was the judge of the pie contest and we had many, many entries.

101_4231

Have I ever told you guys that my family is super competitive?  Well we are, so you wouldn’t believe the amount of effort that was put forth into winning the coveted “prize”.  Here is the highly sought-after trophy filled with some lovely kitchen utensils.

101_4220

The Spinster was in charge of the festivities and let me tell you that the day of the party, I went over to her house to get some headache medication (I was so stressed out over my pie!  I will explain in a minute), and when I walked into her house, it was like a bomb had went off in the kitchen.  She was standing there in a haze of flour dust, her eyes were hollow and blank and there was drool hanging from the corner of her mouth which was hanging agape.  It’s sad really, what competition does to our family.

Knowing how competitive this was going to be, my strategy was to find a pie that was simple, yet delicious to really wow mamaw with.  However, what I ended up with was nothing close to that.  In fact, I ended up calling it Vommit Pie before the day was over with.  Not only was it ugly beyond all reason, it was also disgusting.

The real name of the pie was Sugar Pie or “Shooga” pie as Aunt T affectionately named it.  It was very simple with very few ingredients.  I thought it was a sure win for me.  Nope.  Look at the pitiful thing!

101_4221

And poor Spinster.  Her pie, which I cannot recall the name of, ended up being called “The Grand Canyon Pie” because it was very much sunken in and looked, well it looked like the Grand Canyon!  Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of it to share.  But look at this spread of pies!

101_4222

Here’s the pie judge/birthday girl upon first seeing the pies.

101_4223

101_4228

And if you didn’t believe me before when I said we were competitive, I have to tell you that the Spinster even had crackers and a glass of water for her to clean her palate with between bites!

101_4235

This was very hard for mamaw.  She was so afraid of hurting someone’s feeling by not picking her pie.  And she wasn’t allowed to know who made what pie.  She was very stressed out by the end and in need of a massage.

101_4238

Third place went to my mother for her Reese Cup Pie.  Seriously mom.  It looks like you’ve just won the Publisher’s Clearing House Sweepestakes!  Get yourself under control!

101_4242

Second place went to cousin Hope with her Sky High Strawberry Pie.

101_4245

But in the end, it was Aunt Kim who was victorious with her Cheddar Pear Pie.

101_4246

That was so much fun and after the pie judging contest we proceeded to eat said pies.  Then it was time for the kickball game.

101_4254

101_4248

101_4253

That was a lot of fun.  We were full of pie and worn out from that game.  The birthday party was a huge success and Mamaw really enjoyed herself.

And then to round out the weekend, we ended with a very important day in the life of my little Katie Bug.  She was baptized on September 13th.  It was such a nice service and we are so happy for her.  There were 4 others besides her baptized that night.  I wish I would have had the presence of mind to get a picture of her actually being baptized, but Brian and I were both too busy crying during that part.

101_4261

Here she is afterward with her certificate.

101_4263

Thanks for bearing with me during my break.  If there are any readers still out there, I appreciate your patience!  🙂

13 thoughts on “Here Me Is!

  1. dar September 23, 2009 at 2:46 pm Reply

    Totally awesome post. Hilarious pie contest I love that idea. What a wonderful way to celebrate. That really looked like a very fun day. Congratulations on the Baptism too that is just awesome too! Don’t worry a lot of us have taken breaks I think it has to do with the ending of summer and beginning of the new school year. (nope don’t have kids myself) but those are my excuses anyway. Playing catch up with cleaning the house too.

    • klutzymama September 23, 2009 at 2:50 pm Reply

      Whaddya know! I do still have a reader left! Thanks Dar!

  2. christy September 23, 2009 at 3:52 pm Reply

    Yoohooooo!!! Your back!!! that sounds like a very fun party!! Your family sounds awesome! What a great idea with the pies. What a blessing to see your Katie baptized!!!!!! U’re house is for sale???? Does that mean u’re finally going to move by me?!?! So, so happy u are back…..I missed you!!

  3. Fencepost September 23, 2009 at 4:12 pm Reply

    I’m still here!! tee hee
    I know that pie contest, eating and kickball stuff had to be a barrell of fun!
    Tell your Grandma, Happy Birthday, for us all!
    And congratulations to you all on the baptism. I know that is especially important. And the tears?
    Well, it almost made me cry while reading.
    Another soul saved and an angel sings!

  4. mel September 23, 2009 at 8:05 pm Reply

    Welcome back! Lady I sure have missed reading your posts.
    hugs
    mel

    • klutzymama September 24, 2009 at 2:41 pm Reply

      Thanks Mel!

  5. Susan September 23, 2009 at 11:30 pm Reply

    Yeah! Good to have you back 🙂

    • klutzymama September 24, 2009 at 2:42 pm Reply

      Thank you Susan!

  6. Lillian September 24, 2009 at 4:41 pm Reply

    Hey Lil-
    Glad you back at it. I love the birthday party idea, so much fun! You guys have the most fun at family get togethers, awesome! Congratulation to Katie, I am sure that was a very emtional time. What I am wondering is how did you pie taste?
    Talk to you soon!!

    • klutzymama September 25, 2009 at 1:15 pm Reply

      Lil,
      That pie tasted like barf and that is the truth!

  7. Kristi Smith September 25, 2009 at 10:01 pm Reply

    You are selling your house? Is that a good thing or not? Did I miss something?

    LOVE the pie contest. Sorry, but yours does look a little sad. lol Mine would too! I expect more from you though, Miss Suzy Homemaker. lol I am just teasing you!

    I wish our family did more fun things like this. You all are always having a good time. I need to start getting more creative.

    Congrats to Katie, I am sure that was a very special moment for you all!!!

  8. […] you really must read my cousin’s blog (Klutzymama).  She blogged about our Mamaw’s 70th birthday party where there was a pie baking contest.  Unfortunately, I had to miss the fun because I was in […]

  9. Christy September 29, 2009 at 2:09 pm Reply

    I think Mamaw deserves her very own blog entry…so you can tell us all about her. She sounds like an amazing lady!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

