Gone Fishin’

A couple of weeks ago, I got to go fishing with the spinster and my cousin, Kristen.  It was a gorgeous day!  Just look at the beautiful sky!

DSCF0962

The weather was sunny and in the mid-70’s – Perfect!

DSCF0961

My sweet mamaw and lovely Aunt T, graciously watched the girls for me so we could all go.  They took the girls to the park and to Dairy Queen for ice cream.  The girls loved spending time with both of them.  Look at Kristen’s neighbor’s dog!  Isn’t he gorgeous?

101_4147

Here we are, all set to go.  That’s my cousin, Kristen, on the left.  Isn’t she cute?  And she is so sweet too!   And of course you all know the spinster in the middle there.  She’s cute too…in an old, decrepit, spinsterish kind of way.  😉

101_4150

So, you know that the spinster and I can’t do ANYTHING without turning it into a competition of some sort.  So, it was on like donkey kong to see who could catch the most fish.

DSCF0965

DSCF0964

DSCF0968

Now, I need to mention here that my fishing pole along with all of my fishing stuff was ruined in the flood last summer, so my uncle Randy was so kind as to let us borrow some of his poles.  I had a problem with my pole, and ended up having to use the baby pole…it’s quite tiny as you can see.  In fact, Ju & I both ended up using it that day and as you can see by our catches, it didn’t do half bad!  Below you can see that I caught a good size fish with that little baby pole!

DSCF0970

And the spinster was able to catch a few with it also!

DSCF0969

Clearly she does not get to go fishing enough.

DSCF0974

I caught a pail too.  It snapped my line and sprayed a bunch of muck all over my legs!  Ewwwww!

DSCF0971

So, the final score ended up being 4 1/2 for me, 4 1/2 for the spinster, and I think 4 for Kristen.  The spinster and I each got a half for the first fish because I cast out my line, then my reel broke, so she came over to assist and ended up reeling the fish in, so we each took 1/2 a point for that one.

After a few hours, the girls came & joined us.  This would be the first time for both of them to try their hand at fishing and they loved it!  I can’t wait to get each of them their own poles!

DSCF0978

DSCF0976

DSCF0979

DSCF0980

DSCF0975

We had such a great time and I really hope we get to go again, at least once, before the summer is over!

9 thoughts on “Gone Fishin’

  1. dar July 29, 2009 at 9:45 pm Reply

    Looks like it was a wonderful fishing day. How fun :-))

    • klutzymama July 30, 2009 at 12:14 pm Reply

      It sure was!

  2. Fencepost July 29, 2009 at 11:51 pm Reply

    I went fishing last week and didn’t catch a darn thing. Well, unless you want to count me catching the bottom of the lake a few times. ARRRGGGG
    But I’m real good at feeding fish and drowning worms. *sigh*
    Normally, I’m the one catching while everyone else is feeding and drowning.
    But the guy next door (at campground) is a real fisherman. He caught humongous catfish.
    Makes me wonder just how big the fish get in that lake.
    I’m hoping to go again this summer too. I love to fish. (for something other than the bottom of the lake)

    • klutzymama July 30, 2009 at 12:15 pm Reply

      So, do you eat the fish? (That is when you catch them & not the bottom of the lake!)
      Because I don’t even like fish at all. I always throw mine back. I just love the peacefulness of sitting and relaxing and fishing!

  3. heathermiller July 30, 2009 at 12:06 am Reply

    You and the girls (Brian too!) can go fishing with us anytime! Wally’s dad owns property in Nineveh and has 3 really nice ponds. I will let you know the next time we go fishing. I am sure Sam would love to show Hannah all his favorite spots. The rock pile. The pee tree. How to sneak up on everyone fishing and throw a rock right next to their bobber! I really will call you.

    • klutzymama July 30, 2009 at 12:15 pm Reply

      Thanks Heather, that sounds great!!!

  4. Lil July 30, 2009 at 4:45 pm Reply

    Glad you had a great time. It must have felt like you were catching a shark using that little pole. Makes it alot more fun!! Love the camo hat too by the way really put you in true outdoor fashion. Your always thinkin I tell ya!!

    • klutzymama July 30, 2009 at 6:29 pm Reply

      Yes it did feel like I was catching a great big fish and then there’d be this teeny weenie little guy on my hook! Ha!

  5. Kristi Smith August 2, 2009 at 3:11 pm Reply

    That did look like fun, I haven’t been fishing in a long time. I really haven’t cared to since I grew up fishing. But that made me want to try it again. I hate that I haven’t encouraged Cole to fish and here we have a lake right behind us. argh. Matt fishes down there sometimes but has rarely caught anything. We talked about getting a little paddleboat though for it.

    I can’t imagine Rozanne and I saying, “Hey, wanna go fishing today?” She would laugh in my face. lol

    I used to do it all though. Minnows, worms, stinkbait and all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

