I Left My Heart In Cayaforneeah

My kids are weird.  Now don’t get on me about saying that either, because they are!

And Spinster, do not, I repeat do not, throw in your 2 cents about them coming by it honest.  Because I can already hear in my head what you are wanting to say!

The other day, we were watching a movie and someone accidentally sat on the remote and the channel switched to the country music countdown.  Now let me just say, that I like me some country music.  But my preference leans more towards the older, authentic country and bluegrass / gospel. And besides, CMT is just as bad as MTV these days.

Anyways, we don’t watch that channel, so it was kind of one of those things where my kids realized that there was something taboo going on.  Oh yes, they suddenly became mesmerized, eyes big as saucers.  Like “Oooh…it’s one of those channels.  We’re not allowed to watch one of those channels.”   And I was mesmerized by them being mesmerized by it.

And let me just say that Katie, true to form, was like “Mommy…um…we’re not allowed to watch this.”
That girl is such a hoot because if she is at a friend’s house or one of her grandparents house and something comes on that they’re not allowed to watch, she will ask them to please turn it.  But Hannah…Hannah would just sit back, prop her feet up and watch away!

So, there is this video on and it’s a cryin’, lovin’ and leavin’ kinda song where there’s a guy & girl standing there, giving each other their best soap-opera dramatic scene look.  The girl has a suitcase and they guy is looking at her with pleading, broken-hearted love in his eyes because he just don’t want her to go!

So, I finally snap out of it and grab the remote to turn it.  (Clearly this was another one of my famous “Mother of the Year Moments”.  Much like this one and this one.  Or how about this one!

Anyway, the children snap out of their trance and Katie says to me, “Mama, why were they looking at each other like that?”

So I say, “Well, she was leaving and he didn’t want her to.”

And HANNAH pipes in with “Well, she was probably going to Cayaforneeah.” (California, for those of you who don’t speak Hannah)  “Cayaforneeah is where you go when you get your heart broke.”

See.  I told you.  Weird.

I have no idea where she comes up with this stuff.  I promise I have never told that child that California is for the broken-hearted!

5 thoughts on “I Left My Heart In Cayaforneeah

  1. Kristi Smith July 27, 2009 at 5:34 am Reply

    Hee-Hee. I didn’t realize CMT was as bad as MTV. I must watch it sometime. 😉 I wasn’t allowed to watch MTV when I was young . . . must be why I enjoy it so much now. lol

    Cute.

    • klutzymama July 27, 2009 at 12:28 pm Reply

      I was allowed to watch it, but I don’t think it was as sleazy back then. Or maybe it was, I don’t know.
      Anyway, it’s waaaaay to sleazy for my kids to be watching nowadays. I can only imagine what Hannah might come off with if left alone with MTV for an hour! Probably something like “Yo ma, I need some juice! Fo shizzle!” (Do people still say Fo Shizzle?) 🙂

  2. Christy July 27, 2009 at 6:31 pm Reply

    Ha ha ha ha ha!!!! I am dying laughing!!!!!!! I hope I never have to go to Cayaforneeah!!!!!!!!!! What is hilarious, is that we have known 2 couples in the last year that have split up and one of them have gone off to California!! I hadn’t thought twice about it until now……….I should have asked Hannah about it!!

  3. Susan July 27, 2009 at 9:05 pm Reply

    So funny. My four year old is like that too. We do not watch spongebob so when it comes on the TV he yells to alert me. Once we were at a friends house and they put it on and he covered his eyes so he couldn’t see it.

  4. Fencepost July 29, 2009 at 1:28 pm Reply

    I’ll bet she heard that in a song. Kids seem to retain everything they hear and bring it out at the most appropriate and sometimes inappropriate times. Either way, they make us laugh. Or turn red. Whatever the circumstances are at the time. tee hee

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

