Single Tasking It

Are you a multi-tasker?  I used to be big time.  I would squeeze as many tasks into my day as I could.  It was stressful.  It made me an ugly person.  I had to give all that up.

These days, I’m more of a single-tasker.  I prefer to take it one thing at a time and really put my heart & soul into one task at a time, rather than halfheartedly do 15 things in the same amount of time.  Obviously, with that kind of outlook, not much gets done sometimes, but it’s worth all the peace and quality time together that we as a family gain from it.

Life can get very busy and sometimes I find myself drifting back towards multi-tasking.  I start talking to my children like a drill sergeant rather than a mother.  “Okay troops!  We’re hitting the library.  You have 16.2 minutes before we are off to walk the dogs, after which we will march back home, single file, so I can make everything we consume from scratch, so make every minute count in here, people!  Move out!”

When I am like that I laugh less and smiling is completely out of the question. I find myself constantly doing these heavy sighs and muttering under my breath about how there just isn’t enough time in the day.

So, I’m trying to chill a bit and get back to finding joy in my every day routine, even if not every single thing on the list gets done.  I’m finding peace in all the blessings that the Lord has given us and trying to go with the flow a bit more.

That’s the reason for the lack of posts recently.  I’ve got lots of things in mind.  Like my recent fishing trip with Ju and my cousin, Kristen.  And the slumber party last weekend (we ended up getting some great new senior pictures to add to our portfolio!)

So, Daddy, I know you’ve been having mom call and ask what’s up with the lack of posts patiently waiting, so I promise I’ll be back soon.  Thanks for stickin’ with me, peeps!

4 thoughts on “Single Tasking It

  1. dar July 23, 2009 at 3:24 am Reply

    oh I agree with this post…I use to be a very good multi tasker…but I find the older I get the less multi works for me. I find I am getting spread to thin and miss things that I never use to..so I myself have slowed down the task process… but there are times when it is required I have to roll with them all.

  2. Gretchen July 23, 2009 at 2:04 pm Reply

    So wonderful. I need to do that too.

  3. Shannon July 24, 2009 at 1:33 pm Reply

    I completely agree. I am capable of multi-tasking, but not doing it well! I prefer to be “in” each moment, and enjoy it, rather than stressed, hurried and harried. When I am multi-tasking my string is a lot shorter, and if my husband comes up in the middle needing some attention I am usually short and frustrated because I’m overwhelmed. I would much rather do one thing at a time, even if it means that I get less done, and be able to offer my husband the caring, loving, nurturing, supportive wife that he needs.

  4. Fencepost July 29, 2009 at 1:09 pm Reply

    I used to be a master multi-tasker in a job. I was a service advisor at a car dealership. Talk about wide open for 9 hours a day. It broke me. Now I do well to walk and chew gum at the same time. tee hee

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

