My Sweet Girl

I know I do a lot of posts about Hannah.  It’s not because I have a favorite.  Really, I don’t.  It’s mainly because Hannah hasn’t started school yet, so she’s with me all day during the school year and even though it’s summer now,  Katie really doesn’t like me to draw too much attention to her on my blog. She will literally groan at me when I tell her that I’m going to put a picture of her on here.  I love both of my girls so much, but I thought I should take a moment to put the spotlight on Katie, for a change.  She will probably be horrified if she finds out, but as I have said before, where’s the fun in being a mom if you can’t mortify your children from time to time?  😀

Katie is about as different from Hannah as you can get.  Hannah is a free spirit, if you will.  She doesn’t get easily embarrassed, in fact, I daresay that she really doesn’t give a hoot what anyone might think of the things that she does.

Katie is quiet and shy.  She is intelligent and compassionate.  She is always considerate of everyone’s feelings.  She does have a goofy side, but she only lets it show if she’s completely comfortable with whomever is around.  She’s curious and loves to learn.  She loves her family and writes about that often in her school papers.

She wants to be a teacher when she grows up.  Or a writer.  Or an artist.  She’s come a  long way since the days when she aspired to work at Subway when she grew up!

She loves to look at and learn about nature.  She is kind to all animals and people that she meets.  She’s fascinated by history (which I love!).  She loves to hear stories about me when I was little and all of the crazy things that my sister and I did to get ourselves in trouble. (Oh and there are definitely many stories on that subject!)

She is conscious about her health and the environment.  She actually squealed with delight when I started recycling.  She will tell you how many grams of protein are in whatever we are eating.

She loves to do bible study and learn about Jesus.  She loves the fact that she has two fathers, her daddy and her heavenly one, and she tells me often how cool that is.

She’s not such a mama’s girl, like Hannah is.  Though she would never say it, because she would think it would hurt my feelings, she always says “I’m a daddy-&-mama’s girl.”  But the truth is, that girl is a daddy’s girl all the way.  😉  And I love that.  I love that special bond that she has with her daddy.  I’m a daddy’s girl too.  Not that I don’t love my mama too, mind you.    There are lots of situations in my life where my mom & only my mom will do!

I often wonder what Katie will be like when she grows up.  Will we go through a rough spot when she hits the teenage years?  Will she get to the point that she would rather just die than be seen in public with me?  Or will I get lucky and we’ll always have a close relationship like we do now?  Oh please oh please oh please let it be that way!  What will she want to do?  Who will she marry?  Will she marry?  Will she have children?  The list of questions goes on  and on in my mind…

I know it’s way too early to be asking those kinds of questions.  And yet, it feels as if time is flying by.  It goes by too quickly, that’s for sure.

101_4131

7 thoughts on “My Sweet Girl

  1. dar July 13, 2009 at 12:11 am Reply

    oh she is adorable what a beautiful sweet face.. yes those questions…will be answered all too soon, flies by ya know 🙂

  2. Gretchen July 13, 2009 at 1:26 am Reply

    What a sweet post. Katie is such a sweet girl. I can’t believe how big she is either. You certainly do savor everyday with your girls. You can tell that you do!

  3. Christy July 13, 2009 at 1:42 am Reply

    Isn’t it amazing how different siblings can be?! Katie sounds so much like my oldest and Hannah sounds sooo much like my youngest!! Your girls are beautiful!! It is amazing how quickly they grow up! I can not believe my oldest is getting close to 16!! It seems like she was Katie’s age just yesterday! I think your girls will ALWAYS be proud to have you as their momma! 😉

  4. Fencepost July 13, 2009 at 3:33 am Reply

    Beautiful picture!
    I’ve been there, done that. With it all. The questions, the experiences, everything.
    My best advice? Be sure to have a good relationship while she’s young. So even if you lose her for awhile when she gets busy with life, she’ll be back.
    I was a Daddy’s girl, too. But, my girl, is a Mama’s girl.

  5. MamaHen July 13, 2009 at 12:20 pm Reply

    Such a sweet post. She sounds like a great girl.

  6. Kristi Smith July 15, 2009 at 6:20 pm Reply

    A very nice post. And I love the photo.

  7. Shannon July 24, 2009 at 1:45 pm Reply

    she’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

