You Made My Day!!!

I went out to get the mail the other day and there was a package from my good friend, Christy!

I was so excited that I came inside and ripped into it.  And look at what was inside!!!

101_4018-1

She made the apron, isn’t it adorable?  I was so thrilled that I put it on and literally did a song (“Look at me, I’m Sandra Dee” – have no idea why that particular song, but that was what popped into my head!)  & dance around the kitchen for the girls.  They were all giggles and they loved my apron as much as I did.  Katie said to me again today, “I can’t believe she made that mommy, it looks professional!”  🙂

I also received the sweetest card from Christy along with my apron and a recipe for all of that basil that I’ve been growing.  It’s a Basil Tomato Salad and I’m really excited to try it.

Thank you so much, Christy!  I just love it!

And here is the cookie recipe for those of you who requested it yesterday…

Gretchen’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

3 1/4 C. flour
1 C. sugar
1 C. brown sugar
2 eggs
2/3 C. butter, softened
2/3 C. shortening
1 t. vanilla
1 t. salt
1 t. baking soda
12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Combine all except flour & chocolate chips.
Beat together with mixer.
Add flour one cup at a time (mixing after each cup).
Dough is perfect when it pulls away from the bowl when stirred.
Stir in choc. chips.
Place cookie dough balls on air bake cookie sheet.
Bake at 350 for 8 – 13 minutes or til very lightly browned.
Let cool on pan 3 min. then move to cooling rack.
Makes 4 dozen.

Now, let me just say that I made these cookies so big, that it actually only made about 16 cookies, so I had to cook them slightly longer.  They are awesome!

101_4017

8 thoughts on “You Made My Day!!!

  1. mel July 10, 2009 at 1:39 am Reply

    Christy is a grand lady! I love the apron, you look very cool in it!
    hus
    mel

  2. Fencepost July 10, 2009 at 2:31 am Reply

    So cute!
    Great work, Christy!
    And thanks for that recipe. Now I’m off to see if I have all the ingredients.

    • klutzymama July 10, 2009 at 2:45 am Reply

      Hope you like them!

  3. Christy July 10, 2009 at 4:37 am Reply

    I’m so glad you (and the girls!!) like the apron!! You match your new shelves!! There are those cookies again!! Thanks for posting the recipe!! Those are definitely on the list to make for the weekend!!! 16 cookies??? let’s see….that is 2 for everyone else in my family and that leaves 6 for me! 🙂

  4. Farmchick July 10, 2009 at 1:45 pm Reply

    Oh my….I LOVE the apron….I want it! 😉 Thanks for stopping by my blog–hope you will be back again soon. Happy weekend to you. 🙂

  5. Gretchen July 10, 2009 at 7:22 pm Reply

    That apron is adorable! I love it. So glad you liked the cookies. I have some frozen dough in my freezer I think I may have to bake some. Why do insist on making me hungry with your posting of delicious food. It was so fun to see you all yesterday. Hannah just cracked me up the way she was petting Makenna.

  6. kathy@brazoscowgirl July 10, 2009 at 8:26 pm Reply

    You look great, the cookies look good! I am back from my hiatus (fancy word for not blogging!) I have a few new recipes you might like, cooking is next to godliness in my book!

  7. Shannon July 24, 2009 at 2:15 pm Reply

    those cookies sound (and look) awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

