Basil Chicken & Pasta Bake

Tonight I made one of my most favorite dishes.   I actually call it “Puke On A Plate” because it’s not pretty, but you could call it Basil Chicken & Pasta Bake, so as not to alarm your family.   I only make it a couple of times a year because Asiago cheese is so expensive.  And as I said, she ain’t pretty, but man is it ever good!

101_3991

101_3994

Here’s the recipe:

3 C. broccoli florets, steamed 4 minutes
4 C. hot cooked penne pasta (about 8 oz. dry)
3 chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces and browned in olive oil
1 wedge of asiago cheese, shredded
1/4 C. chopped fresh basil
1/2 t. pepper
1/4 t. salt
2 cloves garlic, minced

In place of the basil, pepper, salt and garlic, I just used some pesto that I had made and frozen.  I just thawed it and then mixed it with the pasta after it was drained.

Preheat to 350.  Combine rest of ingredients and spoon into baking dish (spray with cooking spray first).

Bake until bubbly.  (usually 20 minutes or more)

And there you have it!  Puke on a plate!  It is so delicious!  I served it with some leftover homemade breadsticks that I had in the freezer.

101_4000

5 thoughts on “Basil Chicken & Pasta Bake

  1. Gretchen July 7, 2009 at 9:57 pm Reply

    Personally I think it looks delicious not at all like puke on a plate.

  2. twistedfencepost July 7, 2009 at 11:54 pm Reply

    Well, I can’t make up my mind if it looks delicious or disgusting. Either way, if you made it, I would atleast try it.
    My guys? That’s another story. No way would they even attempt it. Mostly because of the broccoli. They’re such food snobs!

  3. […] Basil Chicken and Pasta Bake (or as my cousin calls it “Puke on a Plate”) […]

  4. […] Soooooooo yummy and I don’t even like Ranch dressing.  Okay so the picture doesn’t look so good.  It kind of looks like my cousin’s  puke on a plate. […]

  5. […] this looks suspiciously similar to Puke On A Plate, but I assure you it is […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

