The Home Management Binder

I recently completed my Home Management Binder. I’ve been working on it for a while and finally got it completed.  It has been so great having all of our important information, meal plans, cleaning schedule, etc. in one spot.

I started with a 2″ 3-ring binder. I decorated it with some of the girls artwork.

101_3886-1

Then I used tabbed sheet protectors to divide it up into the following categories:

Planning (Calendars, master occasions list and to-do lists)
Meals (Menu plans, recipes, shopping lists, price book for groceries, etc.)
Home Management (Cleaning schedule, homemade cleaner recipes, stain removal guide)
Finances (Budget, bills, etc.)
Contacts (Address lists & phone numbers including #’s to our favorite take out restaurants and a family yellow pages section)
Activities (schedule for our local foundation for youth, campground information, play dough recipe, etc…)
School
(school schedules, PTA announcements, lunch menu)
Seasonal (different seasonal recipes & projects or activities)
Projects (this is reserved for different crafts, sewing/crochet projects or any other thing I want to try)

101_3888-1

In the very front I have an emergency information page with emergency phone numbers and other information.

I also have a zippered pouch for pen, pencil, highlighter, calculator & scissors.

101_3887-1

I love this thing.  I take it with me everywhere. I keep my coupons and a notepad in here too.   And it is so nice because now my desk is neat and organized as opposed to wrecked and messy as it constantly was before.  Everything I need is in one place instead of scattered in various places.

If you don’t have one, I encourage you ( if you are a geek like me) to get one.  You can go to Organized Home and print out all kinds of free documents.  Almost all of mine came from that site.  You can tailor it to fit your family’s needs.  They also have some binder tours of other people’s binders that are really great too.

6 thoughts on “The Home Management Binder

  1. Fencepost June 13, 2009 at 9:56 am Reply

    Sounds like a great idea.
    I have something similar, but not to the extent of yours.
    I’ll be checking out that website.

    • klutzymama June 13, 2009 at 1:41 pm Reply

      I have a tendency, especially in the summer when I’ve got both girls all day, to let fun and playing get in the way of my schedule, but this kind of helps me to stay on track! I really love it!

  2. Christy June 13, 2009 at 11:58 pm Reply

    Very handy! I like that idea and the website! Knowing me, I would do all of that and then lose my notebook!! Maybe I should continue to keep all of my things scattered…that way if I lose one thing, at least everything else is still (probably) where it should be. I printed off some forms from that site! I’m impressed with your organization!

  3. Gretchen June 15, 2009 at 1:16 am Reply

    I am impressed as well (but you already knew that). I am working on mine, but I get a little overwhelmed as to what to put in it and what tabs to use. But your categories help a lot! Thank you!

  4. Susan June 15, 2009 at 2:24 am Reply

    Okay I loved your idea so much that I just made one of my own. I don’t have the meal planner and the cleaning schedule-I am not that good, but do have the other categories along with coupons and gift certificates. Thanks for the idea 🙂

  5. Kristi Smith June 15, 2009 at 4:23 pm Reply

    You never cease to amaze me. Okay, I may have went a little overboard on that one. lol 😉

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

