Ear Trauma And A Pantry Facelift

I’ve been searching for a long time for a bookcase to put in my pantry to store canned goods, pasta and other pantry-type stuff on.  I’ve been using one of those wire shelving unit thingies in there and it just was not big or sturdy enough for everything.

Today my mom & I were at a garage sale and we found the perfect bookcase!  It was the perfect size, sturdy and oh so cute!

My mom bought it for me and we brought it home and dusted it off.  It is in great shape and it turns out that the lady having the garage sale actually made it.

In the process of clearing out the pantry to make room for it, I was bending down to pick something up and somehow impaled my left ear on the corner of the wire shelving unit.  It hurt so bad that I actually laid on the ground, writhing in pain.  Brian said you would have thought that I had been shot by the way I was carrying on, but it HURT!

And who does that anyway?  Seriously.  What are the odds?  Well, I’ll tell ya, the odds for me are pretty good.  If there is any possible way for an injury to occur, I will find it.

It gave me an instant headache and it’s been several hours now and it still hurts.  My ear feels very large now.  Almost like there is a small volkswagon or something hanging off the side of my head.

But the bright side of this tragic tale is that my pantry is so much better now!  There’s actually room for all the stuff  and I don’t have to store it here, there and everywhere, so it makes the large ear totally worth it!

I should have taken a before pic, but I was too excited to take the time for that, but here’s the after.

101_3879

Okay, so it’s not a fancy-shmancy pantry like you see on HGTV, but I love it!

4 thoughts on “Ear Trauma And A Pantry Facelift

  1. Fencepost June 6, 2009 at 1:16 pm Reply

    Sorry about the ear thing. Feeling and looking are two different things. So, it’s okay if the ear feels big but only looks normal. Kind of an inside secret. tee hee.
    The shelf is adorable. That lady is talented. I’ll have to keep that in mind for my next wood working project.

    • klutzymama June 6, 2009 at 1:27 pm Reply

      I agree, Beck! At least it doesn’t LOOK like there’s a small volkswagon hanging from the side of my head!

  2. Gretchen June 8, 2009 at 5:29 pm Reply

    I think it is cute. And is your ear better now? I don’t like it that you get hurt, but I do love reading about the crazy ways that only you can hurt yourself.

    • klutzymama June 8, 2009 at 5:41 pm Reply

      Yes, my ear is much better now, thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

