A Capella Chicken Enchilada Casserole

This is one of my most favorite Andy Griffith episodes.  (I think I say that about all of them)

Good ‘ol Rafe Hollister, he may be a part-time moonshiner, but he can really sing.  And the best part of the episode?  When Andy gets Rafe a suit to wear to the singing competition, his wife says “Sure enough Rafe.  You look good enough to get buried.”  Now I’m sorry people, but that’s just funny stuff right there!

I decided to make something from my Mayberry cookbook tonight.  I hadn’t made anything yet and I had everything I needed on hand, so I figured I’d try it.

A Capella Chicken Enchilada Casserole

1 medium onion, chopped (I used 1 T. minced, dried onion)
2 to 3 T. butter
1 can cream of chicken (I used homemade)
1 can cream of mushroom (I used homemade)
1 C. chicken broth (I used homemade)
1 4oz. can chopped green chilies
1 chicken or 8 breasts boiled & boned (I used pre-made chicken mix that I had in the freezer)
1 pkg. corn tortillas
1 lb. cheese, grated

In skillet, brown onion in butter.  Add soups, broth & chilies.  Add the chicken and mix well.
In large baking dish, layer some of the corn tortillas, part of chicken mixture and a layer of grated cheese.
Repeat layers until the dish is filled, ending with the cheese.
Let dish stand for several hours before baking.  (Not sure why this is…I didn’t do this)
Bake at 350 for 1 hour.

This serves 10, so I halved the recipe.  I also sprinkled in some fresh herbs (from my garden) and added some green onions (also from my garden 🙂 and then topped it with sour cream and taco sauce.

The verdict?  Well, Katie liked it, Brian loved it (but he’ll eat anything), Hannah didn’t like it and I thought it was good, but not quite spicy enough for my taste.  If I make it again, I will probably use some of my homemade taco seasoning to spice it up a bit.  Or serve it with a side of Slap Your Mama Rice.  I didn’t serve anything with this…we just had some watermelon afterwards.  I thought it would be pretty filling and I was right.

6 thoughts on “A Capella Chicken Enchilada Casserole

  1. Susan June 4, 2009 at 2:26 am Reply

    Sounds yummy! I am so impressed with your homemade cream of soups! I am StinkyLemsky’s sister and I found your blog through hers. I was reading her comments and thought who is this Klutzmama that is always saying nice things and then I clicked on your site. I have to say I don’t know you but enjoy hearing about your family and think you seem like such a sweet person. Thought I would delurk as they call it and say thanks for sharing with us!

  2. Fencepost June 4, 2009 at 1:38 pm Reply

    Mmmmm….sounds tasty. But I’ll bet Aunt Bea never had any Slap Your Mama Rice to serve with it.
    Wish I could sing like Rafe!!!

  3. Susan June 4, 2009 at 6:15 pm Reply

    Hi sorry I had a typo in my email. My sister gave me the message-thanks for the thanks 🙂

  4. Kristi Smith June 5, 2009 at 12:37 am Reply

    I make almost the exact same dish but it’s called chicken tortilla bake . . . of course, the broth, and creams are not homemade!!! 😉

  5. DAD June 5, 2009 at 12:46 am Reply

    Funny stuff Amos, I can’t imagine you making anything that is not delish, you are the greatest! love daddy

    • klutzymama June 5, 2009 at 1:50 am Reply

      Thanks Daddy, love ya – mean it!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

