Just Keepin’ It Real Today, Folks

My best friend tells me often that I live in a make believe perfect world that exists only in my head.  She says that in my mind everything is wonderful all the time, even when it’s not.

We met when I was 17 and she was 20 and instantly clicked.  We’ve been friends ever since and have been through all kinds of ups and downs along the way.  Well, after 17 years of friendship, she has earned the right to speak freely to me, which she does.  Often.  And that’s fine because I do it to her too.  I tell her she’s too cynical and too negative and that she should try looking on the bright side a little more.  And she tells me me that I’m unrealistic and a dreamer.  Then we play cards and move on to another subject.  We’re about as opposite from each other as two people could get.  But it works for us.

And while I know that everything is not perfect in this world, I also know that this world is full of a lot of things that are wonderful and that make me happy.  Believe me, I have lots of moments of stress, anxiety, worry, etc…just ask the Spinster, she can never escape my insane ramblings on all the things I worry about.  But most of the time, on my blog, I like to talk about the things that make me smile.  It’s not that my life is perfect or that I think it is, I just like to focus on the good things rather than the bad most of the time.

But today, in honor of my BFF, I’m just gonna keep it real, so that everyone can be sure that I don’t walk around in a fantasy world all the time where birds land on my shoulder and sing to me and where my perfect children sit quietly playing with their dollies until they are told to speak.

For starters, I didn’t shower yesterday.  Really needed to.  But didn’t.  In fact, I didn’t even brush my teeth til after lunch.

I stayed up WAY past my 10 pm bedtime last night because I was worrying about Brian’s job situation.  Even though not 2 days ago I posted a poem about casting away your cares.

I’m pretty sure our refrigerator is going out, but I’m pretending that it isn’t because I can’t handle that drama right now.

Willie puked on the dining room floor the other day and Buster ate it.  I made no attempt to deter him from doing it because if I had to clean that myself, you can bet your sweet little booties that there would have been two puke piles to clean up.  No, I just pretended not to see him until it was all over, then went over and sanitized the heck out of the spot where he puked.

I accidentally gave someone incorrect driving directions the other day.  They stopped me in the parking lot at Aldi’s and said they were from out of town and asked me how to get to Wal-Mart.  I gave them directions then after they drove off, I realized that I forgot one very important part of the directions.

So there you have it…a look at just a few of the many imperfections of my life.

Oh and sorry about the dog puke story, but as I said, I’m just keepin’ it real.  😉

5 thoughts on “Just Keepin’ It Real Today, Folks

  1. Christy May 27, 2009 at 4:26 am Reply

    You are hilarious!! I needed a laugh tonight!! What?!?! Birds don’t sit on your shoulder and sing to you? You’ve totally let me down!!! No, but really…I like to look on the bright side of life too! I would rather ignore the bad, tough and ugly and focus on the happy!…maybe that’s why I enjoy your blog!! 😉

    • klutzymama May 27, 2009 at 6:29 pm Reply

      And that is exactly why I enjoy your blog as well, Christy!

  2. Fencepost May 27, 2009 at 11:26 am Reply

    How thoughtful of Buster to clean up after his best buddy to keep from upsetting Mom. tee hee
    I know exactly how you feel. I try to keep my blog as my happy place and not let the everyday trials spill over into it. Sometimes that’s not easy.
    Some days I am the one who does the encouraging and other days I am the one who needs the encouragement.

    • klutzymama May 27, 2009 at 6:28 pm Reply

      Yes, Buster is quite considerate, isn’t he? 🙂

  3. Kristi Smith May 28, 2009 at 1:27 am Reply

    My dog had the craps all over my house the other night, and when I say all over, I mean ALL OVER! It was horrible. Diarrhea. Everywhere. But don’t tell anyone. lol I have some friends that would never come over again, they would be so grossed out. Sometimes . . . crap happens. I wish Buster would have been here to help clean up! 🙂

    I think it is good to look at the bright side, we all know there are many negative aspects of life, if we focused on them all the time we would be in a constant depression. I do think if you smile even when life is bringing you down you are going to feel a lot better than if you sit in your bed and weep.

    I like that you are positive but I like when you keep it real too.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

