Out In The Fields With God

Last year, my good friend Christy, suggested a book to me.  I bought it and I have to say that it has been one of the best books ever.  I will keep it forever and I reference it often.  It’s The Encyclopedia of Country Living by Carla Emery.  It’s got everything from growing vegetables to keeping livestock and all sorts of other great things.  I love it!

As I was looking through it tonight, I found this poem in the very front and I thought it was very fitting for the way I feel right now.  Probably very fitting for a lot of people who are in the position that we are in, struggling to make ends meet after a job loss.  Honestly, there are so many worries about paying the bills, Brian finding a new job, etc.  But at the end of the day, the truth is that we just have to “cast away” all of those cares and trust in God to provide for us.

OUT IN THE FIELDS WITH GOD

The little cares that fretted me,
I lost them yesterday,
Among the fields, above the sea,
Among the winds at play;

Among the lowing of the herds,
The rustling of the trees,
Among the singing of the birds,
The humming of the bees.

The foolish fears of what may happen,
I cast them all away
Among the clover-scented grass,
Among the new-mown hay.

Among the rustling of the corn,
Where drowsy poppies nod,
Where ill thoughts die and good are born-
Out in the fields with God.

-Author Unknown

3 thoughts on “Out In The Fields With God

  1. Fencepost May 23, 2009 at 1:40 pm Reply

    Love the poem. Brings you back to reality. And makes you think about where your mind really should be.
    Thanks for sharing it.

  2. hoosierhomemade May 23, 2009 at 2:48 pm Reply

    Hey Hoosier! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Where in Indiana are you from?
    ~Liz

  3. dar May 23, 2009 at 4:52 pm Reply

    beautiful and I love the title “Out in the fields with God” how true and to witness his beauty and grace 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

