Coming Out Of Retirement

I retired from softball 3 years ago.  I wasn’t having much fun anymore.  I was getting older and slower.  I had my family to take care of…I had lots of reasons for quitting.

Brian & I met at a softball tournament.  When we first got together, we were both playing 3 or 4 nights a week and almost every weekend.  We’ve traveled to a lot of places to play ball.  Including the co-ed world series where there were WOMEN hitting them over the fence.

Softball was our life back then.  It was fun.

Then we got older.  Brian had 2 knee surgeries (from a motor cross accident when he was a teen) and by the time he hit his mid 30’s, his knees would no longer allow him to play.  I still played for a few years after he quit.  Even after the girls were born, but it wasn’t the same and I found myself dreading it most of the time.  So I quietly disappeared from the softball world.

But now…now, I’m feeling the itch.  I don’t get out much anymore.  In fact, besides taking Katie to school every day, I pretty much go out to get groceries on Friday mornings and that’s it.  We do family things on the weekends.  Brian goes golfing every once in a while.  But I don’t really do anything.  That will change this summer, I know.  The girls and I will go swimming and to the park and stuff.  But for some reason, I just felt like playing this year.  And I could really use the exercise.

So, my first game is Thursday and I’m scared to death.  I mean, it has been 3 years after all, and I’m not anywhere near as physically fit as I was back then.  It’s co-ed and I’m playing 3rd base, so I’m already scared that some guy is gonna get up there and hit the ball down my throat!  Brian is going to take me out (hopefully tomorrow) and hit some balls to me and pitch to me so I can see if I still remember what to do.  Gulp.  Yeah, I’m scared, alright.

I’ll let you know how it goes.  If I survive, that is.

4 thoughts on “Coming Out Of Retirement

  1. Gretchen May 19, 2009 at 1:19 am Reply

    You are a braver woman than I! Can’t wait to hear the stories.

  2. Christy May 19, 2009 at 1:43 am Reply

    Good for you!! It will be fun and the exercise will be great!!…of course that comes from me…one who trips over my own 2 feet! For the first several years my husband and I were married, my husband played ball in the summers…my kids LOVED going to the ball field for the games!! They have great memories of it! It ended up being a fun, family entertainment for us. Good luck practicing and for your 1st game!! Let us know how it goes!!!

  3. Fencepost May 19, 2009 at 8:08 pm Reply

    It’ll all come back and you’ll be giving those guys a run for their money. I have faith in you!!!

  4. Kristi Smith May 21, 2009 at 5:06 pm Reply

    That is great! I am sure you will be fine. Just don’t try to show off too much . . . that is what I always tell Matt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

