Got Nothin’ Accomplished Today

A Spring Day By The Seashore by Art.com

A Spring Day By The Seashore by Art.com

I meant to do my work today ~ But a brown bird sang in the apple tree,
And a butterfly flitted across the field, And all the leaves were calling me.

~Richard Le Galliene

That’s exactly how it was for me today.  I had grand plans for cleaning the bathrooms and doing a bunch of laundry, but I got distracted.  For starters, it stopped raining today and the sun even peeked out a couple of times. There was a light breeze and I just needed to be outside.

We went down to the spinster’s house and took her new pup for a walk as she was out of town.  It was a refreshing break from my huge dogs that drag me all over town.

We checked on the garden.

I started a crockpot full of BBQ ribs for tonight.

I made some ketchup. (I can’t wait to make ketchup using my own tomatoes rather than store bought!)

Hannah and I found the perfect spot to hang her butterfly mobile that we made yesterday while it was raining all day.

101_3765

101_3766

101_3771

101_3772

And before I knew it, it was time to pick Katie up from school.  Where did the day go?

Oh and one more thing I wanted to talk about before I forget.  You know how some bloggers do that “Making Your Home A Haven” thing every week?  Well, I love reading those!  I never have participated because I’m doing good just to find the time to post the other things I want to put on here, but I really enjoy reading about how others create a place of peace and comfort for their families.

Here’s something that I do for my family.  After supper each night, I go upstairs and turn down the beds.  When I first started doing it, Brian was really pleasantly surprised.  He thought it was great, actually.  I don’t know if the girls even notice, but that’s okay…they will someday.  🙂

There’s nothing like walking into your bedroom at the end of a long day and finding your bed all turned down and ready for you.  There’s something so welcoming and comforting about that.

Oh and I’ll share the ribs and ketchup recipes, if anyone’s interested in them…whenever possible, I try to link to the recipe source, but some of these I’ve had for a while and I honestly don’t remember where I got them from…

BBQ Slow Cooker Ribs

4lbs pork baby back ribs
2 C. ketchup
3/4C. chili sauce
3/4 C. packed brown sugar
1/3 C. vinegar
3 t. dried oregano
1 T. Worcestershire sauce
1/4 t. hot sauce
2 T. yellow mustard
1 t. salt
1/2 t. pepper

Preheat oven to 400.  Place ribs in roasting pan and bake 15 – 20 min. per side.
Remove from pan to drain.
Combine remaining ingredients in bowl.  Place ribs in crock pot.  Pour mixture over ribs to coat well.
Cook on low 6 – 8 hours.

Homemade Ketchup (Way better than store bought!)

6 oz. tomato paste
2 T. white vinegar
1 T. brown sugar
1 t. garlic powder
1 t. onion powder
pinch allspice
2 t. molasses
1 t. salt
1 T. corn syrup
1 1/4 C. water

Mix all ingredients in saucepan and cook until mixture reaches desired thickness.

5 thoughts on “Got Nothin’ Accomplished Today

  1. Gretchen May 9, 2009 at 12:46 am Reply

    Do you know how long the ketchup lasts in the fridge? Also, I love that you turn down the beds. I think that is so sweet.

  2. dar May 9, 2009 at 2:07 am Reply

    what a cute idea for the mobile…might have to use that this weekend and check out the ribs receipe

  3. Christy May 9, 2009 at 2:47 am Reply

    It sounds to me like you accomplished a lot!!! Happy Mother’s Day…and have a great weekend! 😉

  4. Fencepost May 9, 2009 at 1:09 pm Reply

    Cute mobile. I just love butterflies.
    Thanks for sharing those recipes. Now you’ve got me curious about the ketchup. I’ve not tasted homemade before. And I should have plenty of tomatoes to try this with.

  5. Kristi Smith May 9, 2009 at 5:56 pm Reply

    You are such a great wife and mother!!! I love that. I think you need to mentor me. 🙂

    I guess I have to make the beds though to turn them down, right? 😉

    Making ketchup . . . hmmm . . . not sure if I am for that. lol

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

