We Be Jammin’

Uh…blackberry jam, that is.

My sweet cousin invited me over to learn how to can.  She made brunch and invited some other family members over too.

Look at all of this grub that she prepared for us!  It was so good.  And let me just add that she is very pregnant, so to be doing all of this while being pregnant…I don’t know how she does it, honestly.

101_3742

Here we all are.  There’s my cousin – Kristen, next is the Spinster,  then Aunt T (barely peeking out there) aka Snow White, sweet Mamaw, Gretchen (the hostess with the mostest), yours truly and Aunt Cynthia.  No, we are not a family of demons, I just didn’t take the time to correct the red-eye.  Sorry ’bout that.

101_3761

Look at the Spinster…always trying to steal the spotlight.  Sheesh.  🙂  Just kidding, Spinster!

101_3744

We made spaghetti sauce & blackberry jam.

101_3751

Let’s take a moment and count all of my chins in this next photo.  1, 2, 3…aw, let’s just say 15 and call it a day, shall we?

101_3753

101_3754

101_3755

101_3764

I’m pretty sure this next photo needs to be in a jam commercial of some sort.

101_3759

101_3758

It was much easier than I thought and I only burnt myself once and did not break any of the jars, so I was quite pleased.  I came home with 3 big jars of spaghetti sauce and 5 jars of jam, plus Gretchen gave me 2 boxes of jars to use for when I start canning.

I had some of the jam on my peanut butter sandwich today and it was awesome.  MUCH better than store bought!

Thanks, Gret!  I had so much fun.  It was so nice of you to invite us all over, feed us and let me wreck your kitchen!  And if I don’t kill everything in my garden, then hopefully I will be able to put some of these new skills to use.

7 thoughts on “We Be Jammin’

  1. dar May 7, 2009 at 1:49 am Reply

    Oh my what a lovely spread indeed. Good Looking family too…look at sweet face of Mamaw, smiling at her goodies. What a wonderful day ya’ll must have had. I would love to make my own stuff like that. I am sorry I missed this feast in person…LOL It all looks so yummie. 🙂

  2. dar May 7, 2009 at 2:24 am Reply

    oh and by the way THANKS alot for getting that song “we be jammin” in my head..I have been singing it since I left…stomping out now…LOL 😉

  3. Gretchen May 7, 2009 at 3:17 am Reply

    Ah, so sweet – I love all of the pictures. You are too kind. You look so adorable in an apron. I had so much fun and I can’t wait to do it again!

  4. Christy May 7, 2009 at 3:45 am Reply

    How fun!!! What cute aprons ya’ll are wearing!! Your pictures are all too cute…the one with sweet MaMaw, she looks so proud of all her girls!!! And the one with you holding the jar of blackberry jam, you should be on the cover of a cookbook! Too, too fun! 🙂

  5. […] been living life and it has been a little busy.  This past week I had some family over and we made some jam (visit my cute cousin’s blog if you would like to see details – but ignore my giant 8 […]

  6. Kristi Smith May 8, 2009 at 3:10 am Reply

    yum! Cute photos . . . you look great!

  7. Fencepost May 8, 2009 at 3:01 pm Reply

    Nice looking bunch of family you got there!
    And the commercial?
    Looks like your advertising that jam jar picker upper thingy….
    “See how easy it is to use?!”

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

