Pork Chops & Scalloped Potatoes With Baked Mac & Cheese

I can’t talk about what’s going on with Brian’s job situation right now.  It’s depressing.  And besides, there’s nothing new to report anyway.

Instead I would like to take a break from all that and post a couple of recipes.

The other night Katie asked me if I would start teaching her how to cook, so I figured that 7 is a good age to start learning.

101_3700-1

We happened to be having one of Brian’s favorites that night.  One of my favorites too.

This meal was actually a lot larger than we normally eat, but I had some stuff in the pantry that I wanted to use up, so we went all out.

The pork chop recipe was actually given to me by my sweet mamaw.  And it is so yummy!

The mac & cheese recipe came from a 1956 cookbook and let me just tell you that I know that there are a million and one baked mac & cheese recipes out there, but this is the only one for us.  It is so creamy and delicious!  You should try it, you won’t be disappointed.

We also had biscuits with crock pot apple butter and peas.

Here is the recipe for the chops and potatoes:

Pork Chops & Scalloped Potatoes

3 T. butter
3 T. flour
1 1/4 t. salt
1 1/4 t. pepper
1 can chicken broth
6 boneless pork chops
2 T. oil
6 C. thinly sliced potatoes
1 med. onion, sliced
paprika & parsley

Melt butter in small saucepan.  Stir in salt, pepper, flour & broth.  Cook & stir constantly until boiling.  Cook & stir 1 minute.  Remove from heat.
Brown chops in oil.  Grease 9 x 13 baking dish.  Layer in potatoes & onions.  Pour gravy on top, then add chops.
Cover and bake at 350 for 1 hour.  Uncover and bake 30 minutes.  Top with paprika & parsley.

Baked Mac & Cheese

2 C. dry macaroni
2 T. butter
2 T. flour
1/2 t. salt
1/4 t. white pepper (I use black)
2 C. milk
1/2 lb. shredded sharp cheddar cheese or velveeta
1/2 T. dry minced onion

Crumb Topping

1 1/2 T. butter
1/2 C. bread crumbs
1/4 t. paprika

Boil pasta in salted water until just tender.  Drain & set aside.
In med. saucepan melt butter over low heat.  Stir in flour and cook for 1 minute.
Slowly whisk in milk.  Cook & stir over medium heat until thickened.
Stir in salt, pepper, onion & cheese.  Cook til cheese is melted.
Mix cheese sauce into pasta and pour into square baking dish.
Melt butter and stir in bread crumbs & paprika.  Sprinkle onto macaroni.
Bake at 350 for 40 minutes or until bubbly.

101_3701-1

Yum!  And yes, that is my plate.  Normally my plate doesn’t look like this, but on this particular night, I had to indulge!

12 thoughts on “Pork Chops & Scalloped Potatoes With Baked Mac & Cheese

  1. Snow White May 2, 2009 at 12:25 am Reply

    those recipes sound delicious. Thanks for stopping by — glad you have found recipes you can try!

  2. Gretchen May 2, 2009 at 12:54 am Reply

    I am so excited to try this! Ryan loves scalloped potatoes and pork chops. I am so glad you are now posting recipes – have I already said that?

    • klutzymama May 2, 2009 at 2:43 am Reply

      Yes, I think Ryan would definitely like it. From what you’ve said, he sounds like a real meat & taters kinda guy, so this would be right up his alley!

  3. dar May 2, 2009 at 1:06 am Reply

    looks delicious, dang sorry I was late…man I am hungry..any leftovers? I will be trying this very soon.

    • klutzymama May 2, 2009 at 2:43 am Reply

      Let me know if you like it!

  4. twistedfencepost May 2, 2009 at 1:47 am Reply

    Why is it, that food always looks AND tastes better when someone else makes it? I just ate and I’m already hungry again looking at your plate.

    • klutzymama May 2, 2009 at 2:45 am Reply

      Well, that would be because it’s more like a treat when somebody else makes it, I guess. At least that’s how it is to me. And seriously, my plate was majorly loaded down! But don’t think for one second that I didn’t eat every last bite on that plate!

  5. Kristi Smith May 2, 2009 at 3:51 am Reply

    That looks delish. I will have to try that mac and cheese.

  6. Christy May 2, 2009 at 8:19 pm Reply

    Yummy!! I am hungry now looking at those pictures!! Thanks and more recipes for me to try!!!!

  7. Chris Tallent May 3, 2009 at 12:05 am Reply

    Thanks a lot….I’m on a diet ;)~

    • klutzymama May 3, 2009 at 11:08 am Reply

      Ha! Yeah, this one is a diet buster for sure! 🙂

  8. […] Today I made homemade scalloped potatoes (again my cousin gave me the idea with her recipe). […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

