Too Much Drama For This Mama

Well, I hate to be bringing up unpleasant things on the blog.  I like to keep things light and upbeat on here.  But the last 2 days of my life have been completely crazy!

There is trouble with Brian’s new job.  The owners have cut his pay and his hours.  And quite frankly, we were barely making it before, now we are in serious trouble.  They have told him that they don’t have enough money coming in to pay his salary.  And they weren’t nice about it at all.  They were quite matter of fact and uncaring about it, actually.

So…we are back on the job hunt once again.  The bad part is that the only reason he agreed to this job was because it was paying just slightly more than unemployment.  Now the unemployment is no longer an option and he’s making drastically less than what it was paying him.

AND – my car broke down.  So, we had to have that repaired.  Luckily, my uncle knows a great guy who did the work for us for next to nothing.  So, it was much cheaper than we would have had to pay, but still a huge blow to us.

AND – we had to make an emergency room trip for Katie.  She had an accident on her bike and ended up with some symptoms that scared the crap out of me.  I won’t go in to details other than to say it was one of those accidents where she landed on her bike seat extremely hard…

Tonight as Brian was tucking the girls in, Katie said to him, “Daddy, we’re not having a very good life right now, are we?”  And he asked her what she meant.  And she said that with his job problems and not having enough money that she could tell that we were having hard times.  It really hurts when you have to hear your child say that.

So, I am probably not going to be posting for a few days.  I want to be sure and take a lot of extra time in making sure that my kids know that we do indeed have a very wonderful and blessed life, even if sometimes it may not seem that way.

14 thoughts on “Too Much Drama For This Mama

  1. Gretchen April 30, 2009 at 2:20 am Reply

    I’m so sorry. If you can still come on Monday I will get the ingredients. I’m not sure but I think homemade blackberry jam has to make life better.

    I will be praying for you and the family.

    • klutzymama April 30, 2009 at 2:04 pm Reply

      Thank you Gretchen, but that’s okay, I can still get the ingredients. I’m definitely still coming – I need a break away from the craziness of my life right now!!! 🙂

  2. dar April 30, 2009 at 2:37 am Reply

    Oh my so sorry to hear about the job! Those babies have a way of knowing things and I think it’s wonderful to consider their feelings and spend more time with them in order to guide them better. Very wonderful, wish their were more parents willing to listen to the children..they do have feelings, thoughts concerns.
    I will put ya’ll in my prayers!

    • klutzymama April 30, 2009 at 2:04 pm Reply

      Thanks, Dar!

  3. Christy April 30, 2009 at 4:22 am Reply

    So sorry to hear about your bad news. Isn’t it amazing how perceptive children are?!?! With your upbeat attitude and correctly placed priorities…they’ll be thinking (knowing) very soon what a great/blessed life they have! Even though the ‘times’ may be hard, I bet her memories of this…down the road, end up being very good (because of you and Brian)!! It’s crazy to me, how when it rains, it always seems to pour!!! Just the other day, I was praying that the Lord would stop the storm around us…it doesn’t seem to stop…then the next day at church a lady told me, “Maybe the Lord doesn’t want to end the storm, but He promises He will see you through it.” Not the advice I wanted to hear, but so true. Since then, I have had so much more peace and joy. Continue to hang in there!! I’ll be prayin’ for ya!

    • klutzymama April 30, 2009 at 2:05 pm Reply

      Thanks, Christy. I really like what that lady told you. I believe that is true even if it may be hard to accept sometimes.

  4. Fencepost April 30, 2009 at 1:12 pm Reply

    The most important thing you can give your child, besides love, is reassurance. Knowing that everything will be okay in the end, is enough to ease their troubled mind. Kudos to you and Brian for caring about them first. Everything else will be okay. Keep praying and keep the faith!
    You know you are on my prayer list!

    • klutzymama April 30, 2009 at 2:06 pm Reply

      Thank you sista!

  5. Kristi Smith May 2, 2009 at 3:49 am Reply

    Wow, I am sorry to hear that. I hope something comes up soon. You guys haven’t had an easy year, that is for sure. But you have love and that makes you blessed. Truly. Will keep you in my prayers. Hugs.

    • klutzymama May 2, 2009 at 11:22 am Reply

      You are so right, Kristi. We are so blessed. Thanks!

  6. Laurie May 2, 2009 at 3:49 am Reply

    Why isn’t the unemployment still an option? Here in NJ if you have a full time job and get cut to part time you can collect partial unemployment. As long as he doesn’t just quit he should be able to collect and surely if they let him go he should be able to collect. Couldn’t he ask them to lay him off so he can go back to collecting until he finds a job? If they can’t really afford to pay him anyway wouldn’t they be willing to do that???

    • klutzymama May 2, 2009 at 11:25 am Reply

      Laurie,
      We did find out that he can file for unemployment on the days that he doesn’t work. He works in landscaping, so when the weather is bad, they don’t work. But the bad thing is is that when they hired him, they told him that even when the weather was bad, they would let him work at the shop so that he could still get 40 hours a week. They also promised a significant cash bonus every week. Now they are not letting him work on rain days and taking the cash bonus away.
      But, he hasn’t asked them to let him go so he can draw unemployment again, I’ll have to mention that to him. Thanks!

  7. Lilas May 2, 2009 at 10:29 pm Reply

    I am so sorry to hear that…

    I am a student and I still live with my parents right now, and there’s something that me and my brothers always knew and that we always understood when we were having financial or other problems: we were blessed to have such a loving family no matter what happened. I knew that my father worked very hard for us and that my mother took really good care of us. I’m sure your kids understand it too.

    Keep the faith! I’m sure everything’s gonna be okay soon!

    • klutzymama May 3, 2009 at 11:10 am Reply

      Thanks, Lilas. I hope that my girls feel the same way that you and your brother did!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

