Some Like It Hot

I don’t often post recipes on here, but I’m thinking about changing that.  I love to cook and I love to try new things and just make up my own recipes.  And now that I’ve got my new Mayberry cookbook, I’d like to post some of the ones that we try and like on here, so I guess maybe I’ll start throwing some on here now and again.

Tonight was taco night and I made some rice to go along with it.  The rice is a recipe that I just kinda made up one day and it’s been a keeper.  But tonight I added a secret ingredient.  Chipotle peppers in Adobo sauce.  Oh sweet mama, it was hot!!!

Brian and I love spicy food.  I mean like really really spicy.  So, I have to warn you that this rice is smokin’ hot and only for those who truly, truly love the hot stuff.  Like I’m talking so hot, that tonight while eating it, I’m pretty sure that my ears were bleeding and my taste buds were burned completely off of my tongue.  Seriously.

So, if you or one of your loved ones enjoys the hot & spicy as we do, then I highly recommend this recipe.

SLAP YOUR MAMA MEXICAN RICE

4 C. cooked rice
1/2 C. or more shredded cheese of your choice (I usually shred about  1/2 C. of cheddar and 1/2 C. of monterey jack for mine)
4 oz. chopped green chilies
4 green onions, sliced
2 oz. red peppers, chopped*
1 C. sour cream
3 T. homemade taco seasoning** or you can use the kind in the packet
1 can chipotle chili peppers in adobo sauce (I poured this into my mini chopper and chopped it up to make a kind of sauce)
salt, to taste

Prepare rice and set aside.  Preheat oven to 375.
In large bowl, combine cooked rice with cheese, chilies, green onions, peppers and chipotle pepper mix.
In small bowl, stir together sour cream and taco seasoning.
Add to rice mixture and stir thoroughly.
Spray casserole dish and add rice mixture to dish.  I usually shred some more cheese and add it to the top here, but that’s entirely up to you.  We like lots of cheese.  Cook uncovered about 20 minutes or until warmed through.

*You can make this rice without making it hot.  Just don’t add the chipotle pepper mixture, use a milder taco seasoning and add some mild salsa in to make sure it’s not dry.

**My homemade taco seasoning is also very hot and spicy.  I’ll add the recipe for that too.  You can make it much milder, just adjust the ingredients to suit your taste.  I usually have to make a milder version for the girls.

I call it “Slap Your Mama Rice”, but feel free to change the name to anyone that you might feel like slapping at that particular moment.  Brian was calling it “Slap Your Wife”, so it’s very flexible, you see… 🙂

Taco Seasoning

1/4 C. red pepper flakes or chili powder
1/4 C. ground cumin
1/4 C. oregano
1 T. cayenne pepper
1/4 C. garlic powder
1/4 C. onion powder
3 T. salt

Mix all in ziplock baggie.  Makes 12 servings (2 T. each)
Add 2 T.  plus 3/4 C. water to 1lb. meat.

Use less of the spicy stuff to make a milder version or you can omit them altogether.


8 thoughts on “Some Like It Hot

  1. Christy April 21, 2009 at 6:04 pm Reply

    Yum! My husband will love this…he loves hot stuff!! You’re a crazy woman!! “Slap Your Mama Rice”…. my husband & my kids will laugh when I tell them that’s what we’re having!! I’m printing the recipes now…thanks!! I also printed off your cleaning schedule, wow, I may actually be organized for a week or so (or however long I’m able to follow it!) I’m already proud of myself!

  2. Gretchen April 21, 2009 at 7:46 pm Reply

    Yes! I am so excited that you are going to start to post recipes. I would like to try it, but my husband might die so I may try it without so much of the hot stuff!

  3. Fencepost April 21, 2009 at 8:36 pm Reply

    We like spicy, but not hot. So I’ll be leaving out the hot stuff. And leave that up to you and Nancy to enjoy.

  4. DAD April 23, 2009 at 12:51 am Reply

    This is seriosly hot people, not for the feeble or elderly, should be served with a warning.

    • klutzymama April 23, 2009 at 2:23 am Reply

      Yay! Daddy is here! Thanks for commenting dad! You stole mom’s snoopy picture though…does she know about this???

  5. […] probably use some of my homemade taco seasoning to spice it up a bit.  Or serve it with a side of Slap Your Mama Rice.  I didn’t serve anything with this…we just had some watermelon afterwards.  I […]

  6. Potato Soup « Klutzy Mama January 27, 2010 at 8:38 pm Reply

    […] don’t have many recipes that are all of my own making.  Well, there’s the Slap Your Mama Rice.  And a few others, but I usually just copy ones that I find online that sound good or tweak them […]

  7. […] Just brown 1 lb beef with an onion and 2 tsp minced garlic.  Drain and add 1-2 T. homemade taco seasoning. […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

