Easter 2009

We had a great Easter weekend.

On Saturday, Katie went to an Easter egg hunt with a friend from school and I took  Nanner to a birthday party.  This birthday party was pretty cool.  They had a plastic pool set up with dirt, shovels & pails and the kids all got to dig for worms!  This was requested by the birthday girl.  Hannah had a blast with that.  She was the only girl (besides the birthday girl) who would touch the worms.  She spent most of her time in the dirt.  It was great!

101_3624

101_3627

Saturday evening the girls & I colored some eggs.  This was the first year we did that, so they were pretty excited about it. (That’s a pirate eye-patch around Hannah’s neck.  She had to remove it for egg coloring.)  😉

101_3633

101_3634

101_3639

101_3635

After the egg coloring, we had family movie night.  We watched Kit Kitteridge, American Girl.  I have to admit that I wasn’t really looking forward to this movie at all, but I was pleasantly surprised and rather enjoyed it.

We started out Sunday with an awesome church service, then went to my mother-in-law’s for lunch.  She made a big meal for us of ham, mashed potatoes, macaroni & cheese, corn and rolls.  Yum!

101_3642

We tried to talk Katie into wearing a bonnet, but she was having no part of that.  Hannah was all over it, though.  Both girls looked beautiful in their Easter dresses.

This is Lu.  She’s the girls great-grandmother on Brian’s side.  Isn’t she cute?

101_3664

We also tried several times, unsuccessfully, to get a picture of the girls with Brian’s mom.  She has a problem with keeping her eyes open in pictures!  I could have put one of those on here, but I know she would kill me and I happen to value my life, so I elected not to do it. I have tried before to get pictures of her that I could put on here, but her eyes are always closed.  It’s like she’s become some rare species that no one can get a photograph of or something.  Someday I’ll get her on here…if it’s the last thing I ever do!

This isn’t the greatest picture of us, (Brian has a problem with keeping his eyes open too, so by the time this one was taken, we were all laughing and not ready) but it’s the best one we could come up with.

101_3650

Then we went to my parents’ house for an Easter egg hunt and some pizza for supper.   The egg hunt had to be moved indoors because it was freezing!  We left the camera in the car and both Brian and I were too lazy to go out and get it, so we have no egg hunting pictures.  That was another one of those moments where I said to myself “Wow.  What a great mother you are.”  But then I got over it.  Did I mention that it was freezing out there?  🙂

5 thoughts on “Easter 2009

  1. Christy April 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm Reply

    What cute pictures!! It was freezing here on Easter too!!…and it poured down rain from early in the morning until we went to bed…not very ‘Eastery’! It definitely looked like Easter at your house…adorable!!

  2. Gretchen April 16, 2009 at 2:17 am Reply

    So how did Brian like the movie? The digging for worms is such a great idea – except I would not be the one to want to set that one up, but I imagine most kids would love that. The only digging for worms I would like to do is for gummy worms though. The girls look so cute in their Easter dresses. You all are so cute. And I kind of remember there being a picture of your MIL on here, was it around Thanksgiving?

  3. Fencepost April 16, 2009 at 3:12 am Reply

    Yeah, I thought I remember seeing a pic of your MIL too.
    Cute pics, as always. Your girls are adorable.
    Digging for worms at a birthday party, that’s a new one.
    Saturday-worm search.
    Sunday-egg hunt.
    Coming from anyone else I would think that is strange. tee hee

  4. milah April 16, 2009 at 12:20 pm Reply

    You have a nice looking family! I love the worm hunting game. I think that would go over great with my grandkids, especially my three year old grandson.;D I’m gonna share that with my daughter.

  5. Kristi Smith April 16, 2009 at 12:38 pm Reply

    lol, the digging for worms is hysterical! Never heard of anyone doing that before! Glad you all had a great Easter, you all look lovely, Brian too, of course! 😉

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

