I Don’t Have A Catchy Title…It’s Just Me Going On And On…Blah Blah Blah…

Let me just apologize in advance for this one, there’s gonna be a lot of random thoughts in this post that I’m sure you care nothing about.   That’s the beautiful thing about blogging you can say whatever you want and not have to feel weird about it. I mean, if the readers are interested, they can read on and if they aren’t, they can just leave.  No harm done, right?  Right!

Sometimes I blog because I have funny stories about my life.  And truly, the whole reason I started this blog was to put some sort of documentation out there of our lives for our children.  I mean, the stuff that happens on a day to day basis is sometimes so ridiculous and hilarious that it would almost seem criminal not to document it.  And yet, I realize that if I didn’t put it down in writing, I would surely forget about it in a few days time, so it will be a great thing for our girls to be able to look back on when they are grown.

But, if I’m honest, I will admit that there are times when I post things with my readers in mind.  Once I started getting regular readers, I started thinking about the blog in a different way.  For example, when I talked about Frugal Living?  Well, that wasn’t exactly something that I needed my children to remember about their childhood.  It was more of a need for feedback from my readers…know what I’m sayin’?  It was one of those times when the real reason for the blog took a back seat to me just wanting some chit chat with my friends, maybe a little advice or a few tips.

So, now my blog is serving more than one purpose.  There’s the story of our lives for my children to have when they are grwon, but then there’s also this new thing where I’m talking to all of my new and old friends every day…whether they respond or not.  I’m just throwing it out there…for discussion…or not, whatever!

I’ve got my old friends…(Lil, Mikal, Jena…etc, etc) and I’ve got my new ones that I’ve made in the blog world…(Kristi, Christy, Becky,50’s Housewife, Jennifer , Becky aka Stinky Lemsky and lots of others ) and then there’s the fam…(Ju aka Spinster, Gretchen, Kay, Bren, Aunt Mar Aunt Maggie, to name a few).  This other avenue for blogging has become quite a treat…and sometimes a source of anxiety.  Sometimes I think “Oh man…it’s been several days since I’ve posted…and I’m not talking about anything worthwhile…maybe my readers will be turned off…”.  Okay and that’s just silly, I know, but still, it happens.  And I know some of you know what I’m talking about because you’ve talked about this before on your blogs and I always think “Oh no, don’t be silly…it’s your blog, talk about what you want.”  But then, there I am, feeling bad because I’ve got nothing good to talk about.

Anyway…what is the point I’m trying to make?  I don’t know…is there a point?  Oh yes!  The point is that I really enjoy all of your comments and emails and even those of you read but don’t comment.  I appreciate all of the new friendships that this blog has brought me and all of the old ones that have always been there.  I enjoy every aspect of it.  This blog has been  such an awesome experience for me…even when I’m not talking about anything more than being chased by a goat.  🙂  Maybe it’s because I’m at home A LOT where it’s just me and my two little sweeties and I don’t really have that one on one adult conversation that comes with a full time job.  I love being a homemaker and I love spending time with my family, so much so that sometimes I forget that there are other people out there that I can communicate with (except for Spinster, she is never safe from my emails and phone calls at all times of the day and night and that touch on every subject known to man!  Seriously! Just ask her!)  It allows me an outlet for frustrations, joys, embarrassments, etc and allows me to feel some sort of interaction with the rest of the world.

And now on to the next random thought in my head:

Willie Nelson.  No, not my dog.  The actual singer.  You may have already gathered that I’m a Willie fan if you’ve been reading my blog for awhile.

But, do any of you happen to know my favorite Willie song?  I’m guessing not many…maybe a couple of you.  Well, here it is…The Highway Man.  Do you know it?  If not, you can listen to it if you want…but just be forewarned that there’s one bad word in there, so don’t play it if you’ve got little ones around…

I know that it’s not really just Willie singing, but I love this song!  It is another one of those that I sing at the top of my lungs whenever I hear it.  Not sure why I love it so much, but I do.

And now on to the next random thought.  Do you know that Saturday night Brian and I had the whole evening to ourselves?  The girls went to my MIL’s to spend the night

So, what do you think we did?  A romantic dinner?  A night out on the town?  Oh no!  Here’s what we did:

Yardwork

Laundry

Painting

A bike ride

Walking our insane dogs around town (this ended up involving a flying cat that almost landed on my shoulder – and let me just say that I am EXTREMELY not fond of cats!!!)  I will expand on this in a later post.  And Becky,  I am fully prepared for all of the teasing that I know you will give me after I made fun of you and your cow issues!

Played 6 games of Yahtzee (this is because I would not stop playing until I actually won a game)

Played 5 games of Skip-Bo (also because I would not stop playing until I actually won a game)

And all the while that we were playing these fabulously exciting games, we were listening to all kinds of CD’s that have just been sitting around feeling lonely for way too long.  We were just taking turns pulling out different ones and just jamming along as we were playing cards.  There was Journey, Bad Company, The Eagles and of course…Willie.

And I have to say that it was WAY more fun than a romantic dinner or a night out on the town.

So…~deep breath~…I believe that this is the end of my nonsensical ramblings for today…thanks for listening or for not listening, whichever may be the case!

12 thoughts on “I Don’t Have A Catchy Title…It’s Just Me Going On And On…Blah Blah Blah…

  1. Becky aka stinkylemsky April 6, 2009 at 10:59 pm Reply

    Count me in the “listening” group. 🙂

  2. Fencepost April 7, 2009 at 1:38 am Reply

    Oh yeah, I get that, too. Worried everyone will give up and go elsewhere. But then if I only have 2 people reading, then WOW, I’ve got 2 people reading. And they haven’t figured out I’m a nutcase yet. tee hee
    Love the Highway Men, too. It’s a shame 2 of them are cruising down a highway in another existence.
    Occasionally, Boo will stay the night at a friend’s house and leave me and The Captain twiddling our thumbs. We like to fix a steak dinner on the grill, relax and watch movies in bed. You have to understand, I don’t watch tv too much. So it is a treat for me. And The Captain? He could watch tv, 24/7.
    Oh, and the cat thing…
    this is gonna be fun! tee hee, just joking. But I’m sure it will come up and don’t think I’ll pass up a free shot.

  3. lil April 7, 2009 at 1:39 pm Reply

    I don’t mind a little rambling. I am a dedicated reader. Is that a good thing or a little sad? Oh well, helps me keep up on the happenings of your life. By the way, I love all the stories about the girls and the funny stuff Hannah comes up with. So keep it up. One day they are going to crack up at all this stuff (and roll their eyes a little). About Saturday, does not matter what you do as long as you spend time together. All couples need that once in a while. Sounds like fun!

  4. Gretchen April 7, 2009 at 6:59 pm Reply

    I kept getting scared throughout this whole post thinking you were going to say that you were going to stop blogging. Really, I was kind of holding my breath. I feel that say way that you do on my blog. And I mean, it is not like I am getting paid or anything. If I don’t update regularly is anyone REALLY going to care – I don’t think so. I have to remember that myself. And please, don’t stop blogging (not that you were going to) because I would truly be sad. It is fun knowing things before T does – ha just kidding!

  5. Gretchen April 7, 2009 at 7:00 pm Reply

    Oh and that is an awesome date night for you and Brian. If only my husband was more of a game player. He will play if I beg him to, but he is getting better.

  6. Lilas April 7, 2009 at 9:26 pm Reply

    Hi!

    Just wanted to let you know that I LOVE your blog! I’m reading every post that you write, and just love the way you’re writing your life and exciting stories.

    And, guess what? I’m not a housewife, I’m not even a mother. I’m just a regular student from… Paris!

    So please feel free to write about anything you want. It’s a real pleasure to read you.

    Lilas.

    P.S.: Sorry for the bad english… 😉

  7. klutzymama April 7, 2009 at 9:35 pm Reply

    Welcome Lilas! I had no idea I had a reader in Paris! The internet is an amazing thing!
    And your english was perfect! 🙂

  8. Christy April 8, 2009 at 4:15 am Reply

    I’m like Gretchen, I was holding my breath through that whole post thinking….’Nooooo, she can’t quit!!” I love your honesty and I love your humor!! It’s humor I get…that I can so totally relate to!! I am like you, the things I write about are sooo varied…but my mom always tells me…”Just be you, write what’s on your heart”…so that’s what I try to do…and although, my # of readers is rather small (and I don’t think I have anyone from PARIS reading it!!!) but that’s o.k..because I enjoy it!! That’s what I love about your blog, you are YOU and you make people laugh, encourage & inspire, and you share yourself so honestly. andddd…I love your date night!! Isn’t it amazing how many fun times and memories we can make without spending a lot of money?! It sounds like a fun time to me…and at least you didn’t give up until you won! It’s awesome that you and your husband still know how to have fun together!! So many couple lose sight of that, or don’t make it a priority…so way to go! Sorry, my comment is getting pretty lengthy!!

  9. 50s Housewife April 9, 2009 at 2:53 am Reply

    You are so funny! You just keep on writing and I’ll keep on reading. 🙂

    Your date night sounds about like ours usually are (other than our anniversary).

  10. Kristi Smith April 9, 2009 at 3:23 am Reply

    I didn’t start blogging to record our day to day activities, I started blogging because I wanted the attention! lol 😉

    Love hearing what you are up to, I think it is just a great way to connect with people. You read about people’s daily lives, how their kids are doing, it is an amazing way to learn about people.

    I love it.

    Paris! Don’t you just love it? There are times I wonder how people found my blog. Like you! lol

  11. Christy April 14, 2009 at 2:39 pm Reply

    oh klutzymama….where art thou??????

  12. thecottonwife April 14, 2009 at 7:22 pm Reply

    I hate cats TOO!! People think I am nuts. Well, actually they think I’m nuts when I say that I am scared of cats. But I am. They are evil.

    I enjoyed your ramblings!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

