Klutzy Mama: Vampire Slayer! OR Why I Can’t Take Medicine That Makes Me Drowsy

I had a headache for 3 days in a row this week.  By the 3rd day, it was almost to migraine level.

I’ve had migraines since I was 8 years old.  I used to have them quite frequently and if you’ve ever had one, you know how terrible they can be.

However, after having Hannah, the migraines started to taper off quite a bit.  Now, I can go for months and not have one.  My doctor told me that they could become worse after having children or they could get better or stop altogether.

So, by the 3rd day it was getting pretty bad.  So bad that after picking Katie up from school I told the girls that they were gonna have to put a movie in because Mommy needed to lie down on the couch for a while.  We don’t have insurance anymore, so calling the doc for some migraine medicine was out of the question.

I hung in there until after supper, at which time Brian looked at me and decided that I needed to take some Tylenol PM’s and call it a night.  I used to love taking them for a headache.  I could take one and nod off into sleepy land and not be aware of anything until the next day.  But after having the girls, I don’t like taking stuff that makes me drowsy.  I am always fearful that they will wake up screaming in the night and I’ll not hear them.  Brian sleeps so soundly that I don’t ever trust that he’ll hear them either.  He also snores like a bear, so the screaming children would be drowned out by the sound of logs being sawed.

Anyway, last night he assured me that he would hear the screaming children and that I should take the Tylenol PM’s because it would be a lot cheaper than an emergency room visit for a migraine shot.

So I took the pills.  And I then proceeded to sleep the sleep of the dead.  I never moved from my original position and never heard a sound all night.  Little did my family know that while I lay there sleeping with my face poised in an angelic-like pose, I was doing battle with all kinds of evil in my dreams!

I dreamt (I know that dreamt is not a word, but I don’t like “dreamed”) that my family (mom, dad, sister, aunts, etc – my husband and girls were not present in this dream – thank goodness!) had all turned into vampires.  They were trying to turn me into a vampire too.  It sounds ridiculous, but it was terrifying in my dream.

So, I’m the only non-vampire left in the family and the only way that I can kill the vampires and turn them back into my loving family members is to stab them through the heart with a blue ball point pen.  And it had to blue!

So, I set about stabbing everyone through the heart with my pen, but for some reason I kept losing my pen and having to look all over creation for another one.  For example, when I was trying to stab my sister through the heart and turn her back into a normal human being, I dropped my pen down into a floor vent and had to run screaming from the room to escape her.

I think it’s hilarious now, but let me tell you that I was scared to death while having this dream!

Anyway, it’s going to have to be a pretty bad migraine before I’ll be taking the Tylenol PM’s again.

10 thoughts on “Klutzy Mama: Vampire Slayer! OR Why I Can’t Take Medicine That Makes Me Drowsy

  1. Fencepost April 4, 2009 at 3:33 am Reply

    I guess the blue added to the suspense. I mean, it would have been too easy to find “any” pen to use. It’s kinda like in the movie Christine, why does the guy run right down the middle of the road? Why don’t he go somewhere the car can’t go? But then, where would the suspense be?
    I’ve had headaches most of my life too. Actually, I don’t think there is a time when I don’t have somewhat of a headache. I’ve just learned to live with it. I have a high pain tolerance. But when they are really bad, I take Excedrin Migrane or Excedrin Tension Headache. I took Tylenol for so long, I became immune to it. My son-in-law suffers from migranes, I gave him an Excedrin Migrane and he was surprised that it actually gave him some relief. Just FYI. Maybe it will help, without an ER trip.

  2. klutzymama April 4, 2009 at 10:29 am Reply

    Yes, the blue pen definitely made the dream more exciting, Becky!
    Thanks for the tip. I’ve tried Excedrin Migraine before, but not for a few years, so I’ll have to get me some to keep for the next time.

  3. Becky aka stinkylemsky April 5, 2009 at 2:22 am Reply

    i used to have REALLY bad headaches all the time & it turned out they were caused by my sinuses of all things. (Even my doc thought they were migraines, not sinus headaches). I had to have sinus surgery & 7 of my 8 nasal passageways were blocked by polyps!

    I hope you don’t get any more headaches soon – next itme it might be werewolves or something! 🙂

  4. klutzymama April 5, 2009 at 5:22 am Reply

    Stinky,
    I call you Stinky only because another Becky has already commented, 🙂 I am thinking that maybe I need to talk to my doctor about sinuses. As I said, I’ve had migraines since the age of 8, but if I stop and think about it, I’ve had quite a few sinus infections as of late…could be maybe I’ve got some sinus issues going on that I’m just mistaking for migraines…anyway, thanks for bringing that to light.

  5. Gretchen April 5, 2009 at 12:24 pm Reply

    Wow, that dream would be scary. Kind of hilarious because my husband hates blue pens. He will not use them ever! I hope you don’t get another migraine anytime soon!

  6. Christy April 5, 2009 at 8:28 pm Reply

    So glad your headache is gone for now! I get migraines every now and then, they’re awful!! Glad you’re feeling better, and I’m glad your family really isn’t vampires!! 😉

  7. Kristi Smith April 6, 2009 at 3:23 am Reply

    I am the biggest wimp when I get a headache because I am not used to getting them. Never have had a migraine, thank goodness! Sorry to hear about it, glad you are doing better. I love to take Tylenol Pm or just generic PM’s to help me sleep.

    Maybe you shouldn’t read Twilight. 😉

  8. thecottonwife April 6, 2009 at 10:46 pm Reply

    Glad it worked! My remedy is 4 Aleve’s and shotgunning a beer right behind them. Classy, eh?

    Thank God I don’t get migraines while pregnant.

  9. […] Tylenol PM’s Got Me Again Remember the vampire dream I had a while back after taking Tylenol PM’s?  Remember how I swore them off and vowed to […]

  10. Ow. « Klutzy Mama December 21, 2009 at 6:32 am Reply

    […] hate taking pain medicine.  You know how Tylenol PM’s make me have weird dreams, right?  Well you can imagine what the pain medicine is doing.  I […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

