The Mayberry Cookbook

Look at my new book!!!  Look at it!  I’m so excited, I can’t stand it!

mayberry-cookbook

My mom got this for me and I can’t wait to read it and try out some of the recipes.  Not only does it have recipes, it also has stories about all of the different Mayberry characters and lines from the show.

For example:  ANDY: (To Opie at picnic) “If you eat any more you’ll swell up so tight your freckles will fall off.”

Love that!

And here’s the recipe for Rodney Darling’s Blackened Pig

1 medium to large pig
1 medium size house
sauce (optional)

Run the pig into the house.  Shut all of the doors.  Set the house afire.  Return in 3 days with oven mitts.  Search and serve.
Serve with sauce if desired.
Serves the entire Darling family.

Haaaa!

Here’s what mom wrote on the inside of my book:

“To Amee From Mom – with love – You should have lived in Mayberry, your heart is surely there!”

I can’t wait to try some of these recipes and I will be sure and share them with you as I try them.

7 thoughts on “The Mayberry Cookbook

  1. Gretchen March 30, 2009 at 2:08 am Reply

    I am so incredibly jealous right now. I want one. I can’t wait to see what wonderful things you make from it. I mean Aunt Bea was always cooking something awesome right?

  2. Fencepost March 30, 2009 at 10:51 am Reply

    I sure hope you don’t decide to try the blackened pig. But if you do, I’ll come help you search. tee hee
    Your Mom couldn’t have picked out a better gift for you!

  3. vickie March 30, 2009 at 12:28 pm Reply

    OH MY GOSH!! I have this cookbook also!

  4. Christy March 30, 2009 at 5:27 pm Reply

    We have that cookbook and LOVE it!! My oldest daughter isn’t a big cook, but if she can cook out of this cookbook…she does it!! I think one recipe is called Goober’s Chocolate Cake…or something like that…it’s great!! So is the Shepherd’s Pie and Lemonade!!! I found it at a flea market a couple of years ago and was SOOO excited…yeahhhh for you!!!!!

  5. 50s Housewife March 30, 2009 at 9:49 pm Reply

    What a great gift! I’m jealous! 🙂

  6. Kristi Smith March 31, 2009 at 1:52 am Reply

    That was the perfect gift for u. 😉

  7. Janet April 7, 2009 at 3:51 am Reply

    I’ve got a Mayberry cookbook, too. Mine is Aunt Bee’s Delightful Desserts. I got mine at a yard sale. I love that show.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

