How My Mother Scarred Me For Life With Her Musical Choices

I was reprimanded by my mother for not posting anything about her exquisite taste in music.

Well friends, that’s because she listens to Celine Dion, and I’m sorry people but I just can’t go there.

So, I’ve tried to wrack my brain and remember what it was that she listened to when I was a child.  Abba comes to mind.  And Barbara Streisand.  Oh and the Bee Gees!  You see where I’m going with this, don’t you?

I probably don’t remember much about it because I was so traumatized by her music of choice, that my mind has blocked it out to protect me from having to relive it.  Every time I try to remember it, all I see is flashes of  bad perms, too much blue eyeshadow, horrible polyester suits and men who sing like women.

No wait!  Now, I gotta give her some props for Fleetwood Mac.  I like them a lot and I do remember her listening to them.  But I also recall her being obsessed with Stevie Nicks when she went out on her own and I’m sorry but to that I must say NAY!  I seem to recall a certain number of dresses being donned by my mother with long flowy sleeves.

So today I leave you with a video tribute to my mom.  Here you go mother. 🙂 You can thank me later.

Now, I ain’t gonna lie to you, I’ve definitely gotten down to this song at my share of wedding receptions.  There is definitely a certain entertainment factor to consider here.  But it is very hard for me to imagine a time when it was actually considered sexy for a man to sing like this.  I mean, I know it happened, but woah!  He’s getting up there in Mariah Carey range with that!

Try to stay with it, but by all means, leave if it becomes too much for you!

6 thoughts on “How My Mother Scarred Me For Life With Her Musical Choices

  1. Christy March 16, 2009 at 8:33 pm Reply

    yeah….I don’t know, I think I would’ve wanted to hang out with your Dad on Saturdays too. Although, my sister did have a BeeGee’s poster on her wall! But as for Celine Dion…I like her, at times. I have to be in the mood. Your Dad was (is) pretty cool! We spent our Saturdays listening to my parents music…it was….Buck Owens, The Statler Brothers, Barbara Mandrell, Donna Fargo. Thanks for the memories 🙂

  2. Christy March 16, 2009 at 8:58 pm Reply

    It kinda makes you wonder about what our kids will remember about their Saturdays when they’re grown up. Kinda worries me after I spent part of the day Saturday cleaning to “70’s Saturday” on the radio!!

  3. Gretchen March 17, 2009 at 3:08 am Reply

    I think it was their tight pants that enabled them to reach such high notes – I’m just saying.

  4. Fencepost March 17, 2009 at 3:24 pm Reply

    Hahaha, good one Gretchen! I have to agree with you!
    I liked some of that. I said SOME of that.
    I’m flexible. See I could jam with you and your Mom and Dad. Are you sure they don’t have a long lost daughter that might have ended up in SC? tee hee

  5. Kristi Smith March 18, 2009 at 1:05 am Reply

    I like that song. The tight pants got to go . . . what in the world happened if they got a little too excited with those things on??? Celine Dion . . . ugh . . . not my cup of tea.

  6. Becky aka stinkylemsky March 18, 2009 at 2:33 am Reply

    Isn’t it amazing how music can bring back so many memories?! I rarely stop to consider the type of music my dad listened to, but suddenly I’ll hear something walking through a store and be transported back to when I was 8 years old. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

