The Coyotes Are Freaking Me Out A Little

So, tonight I’m sitting in my favorite reading spot at mom & dad’s – curled up on the chaise lounge in front of the bay window – when all of a sudden I hear this screeching/barking-like sound.  Brian and my dad were watching a ball game, so I didn’t really pay attention to it at first because it was kind of being drowned out by the TV.

But then it got closer.  And louder.

I said “Daddy?  Could you mute the TV for a sec?”

And sure enough, there it was again, only closer.

It sounded as if a dog had been frightened so badly that it was actually shrieking!

And it also sounded like it was directly outside of the window where I was sitting.  So I crawled up into the bay window and peered out trying to find the source of the noise.

My dad told me it was just the coyotes.

“Oh.  Just the coyotes.” I said.

Coyotes?

Okay, so I knew that they were out here, that wasn’t so shocking.  The part I didn’t know was that they actually come right up to the house.

I’m pretty sure I won’t be going outside alone at night!

3 thoughts on “The Coyotes Are Freaking Me Out A Little

  1. Kristi Smith March 4, 2009 at 3:53 am Reply

    We used to hear the coyotes at our old rental house in the country. The landlord said they wouldn’t bother us . . . and I preferred to believe him!!!

  2. Fencepost March 4, 2009 at 12:28 pm Reply

    I wouldn’t be going out there either. And don’t let the dogs out either. They are just as curious as a cat, but only have one life.
    Occasionally, we hear one around here. Atleast that’s what I think it is.
    Tell you Dad to come listen, so he can confirm. tee hee

  3. Gretchen March 4, 2009 at 5:53 pm Reply

    I would definitely be freaked out too!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

