Down On The “Farm”

We jokingly call my parents house the Teltoe Farm.  It’s not really a farm.  We just call it that because once upon a time, it was a fully operational farm.  But now…the only thing that is really raised around here are cats, dogs, and lots of fun family memories.

101_3477-1

See those two poles?  Well, in the summer we put up a net and that becomes the volleyball/badminton court.

101_3480-1

There’s the basketball goal that gets lots of use no matter what the season.  We Hoosiers like our basketball, ya know!  Katie was out there the other night shooting in 30 degree weather.  (and doing a pretty good job on a 10′ goal with a coat and gloves on, I might add)

101_3482-1

The horseshoe pit.  It’s kind of taken a back seat these days to corn hole, but we still play once in a while.

101_3481-1

The view from the back yard.

101_3479-1

The view from the front yard.  As you can see, it’s very peaceful and quiet out here.  I love sitting out here when the weather is nice.  It’s great for reading or napping.

101_3478-11

There is a beautiful magnolia tree, a persimmon tree and a Rose of Sharon that I will take pictures of in the spring.

The kids love it.

101_3487-1

So do the dogs.

101_3490-1

I went for a walk the other day.  It was cold and the wind was murder.  There is nothing out here to block it, so it’s always really windy.  But the sun was shining and I needed some fresh air down deep in my lungs, so I set off with Buster in tow.  Poor Buster, he doesn’t get to run wild like Willie Nelson & Tommy (my parents’ dog) do.  You see, Buster is a poop roller/eater.  If there is poop, he will find it and roll in and/or eat it, which in turn sends me into fits of gagging.  So alas, he only gets to go on a leash.

Buster & I didn’t make it too far down the road before the wind started cutting into me, making my eyes tear up.  So, we headed back home.  But it felt good to get out there.  I’ve been so busy with job hunting for Brian and moving that exercise has been the furthest thing from my mind.

Today was warmer, so Hannah and I decided to play hide and seek.  Here she is hiding by the gas tank.  She’s at that age where she thinks that if she’s not looking at you, you can’t see her.

101_3491-1

Here I’m trying to hide behind a tree, but Willie is giving away my location.

101_3494-1

So, that’s it so far from the Teltoe Farm.  More pictures when the weather turns nice!

5 thoughts on “Down On The “Farm”

  1. thecottonwife February 26, 2009 at 12:51 am Reply

    I know unfortunate circumstances brought you to live at your parents’ farmhouse but I don’t think I’d ever want to leave! It looks like such a great place to live.

  2. Fencepost February 26, 2009 at 3:21 am Reply

    Looks relaxing. Well, it looks like it will be when the cold north wind stops howling.
    I’m still praying for you and your family.
    I just love that dog. Buster is adorable!!

  3. Gretchen February 26, 2009 at 1:05 pm Reply

    It is wonderful out there! It is always fun. You could definitely have a huge garden out there!

  4. Christy February 26, 2009 at 2:16 pm Reply

    I love their farm house!! (maybe you could bring it that farm girl touch….garden?? chickens??) Is anything new on the job hunt?? Keep us posted!!

    Buster is SOOO cute, his face/eyes almost look like a persons!

  5. Kristi Smith February 28, 2009 at 3:41 am Reply

    For a minute there I thought I was going crazy, glad to see that is Willie Nelson. lol

    Yes, I think that would be a great place to be in the spring. It has been terribly windy here too. We don’t have anything blocking the wind here either.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

