Okay So I Lied. I Am A Liar.

I said I wouldn’t talk about weight loss anymore.  I did.  I said it.  But then  a couple of people requested that I post a typical day’s menu, so now I’m going back on my word.  And since I’ve been falling slightly off the wagon these last few days with all of the snow and cold, (comfort food has been calling my name – and I’ve answered the call, oh yes I have) I figured now would be a good time to get that menu posted and at the same time, get my rear back in gear!

So, here is a typical day of eating for me –

Breakfast – This is a no-brainer, it’s the egg & cheese on toast.  Every. Single. Day.

Snack – This would be 2 to 3 hours after breakfast – Apple

Lunch – Chicken Pita Pizza
1 Low calorie whole wheat pita
1/4 C. spaghetti sauce
sliced zuchini (1/4 C. or less)
sliced red or yellow bell pepper (about 1/4 pepper)
1/4 C. or less (usually less) of mozzarella cheese
cubed or sliced chicken breast strips (the ones you buy in the bag that are fully cooked)

I first toast the pita in the oven on 350 for a about 5-8 minutes.   While that is toasting, I warm the chicken up either in a skillet or the microwave.  Then take pita out and spread on sauce.  Add veggies and chicken, sprinkle with cheese and put back in oven for another 5-8 minutes.  Remove and slice.  This requires a little bit of time, but it is well worth it.  It’s really delicious and very low calorie.

Afternoon Snack – Banana or some other fruit.  Or celery stick with peanut butter.  I try to stick to fruits and veggies here, but occasionally I’ll have a string cheese stick or some toasted pita chips with a piece of cheese.

Supper – I don’t follow any guidelines here, just make whatever we would normally have (meatloaf, chicken and noodles, spaghetti – whatever) and limit myself to one portion.

Some people have another snack in the evening and that is okay as long as it’s not too high in calories and early enough in the evening.  Don’t eat right before bed.  I’m just not one for eating at night, so once supper is over I’m done for the night.

So, there you have it.  A typical day for me.  I’m beginning to realize that I fall off the wagon a lot, but the thing to remember is that you can always get right back on, so that’s what I try to tell myself.  I’ll never be perfect at eating right and exercise, I just try to do the best I can.

A great recipe source to check out from the library is Bill Phillips’ book Eating For Life.  This is what I followed after having Hannah and it worked.  I did incorporate exercise into the mix too.

And last but not least, remember this post where I wrote a poem for my sister?  Well, she has written one to me in return, in light of my recent weight loss endeavors.  Here it is, live and in person for your reading enjoyment, folks!

My Beautiful Sister

You are skinny, yet you say no!

You are skinny, this I know!

Your belly is flat, your butt has no fat!

My goodness, your beauty – it astounds me!

Your husband sure knows – he is so lucky!

Old age has made our metabolism crawl,

I know, I know it makes you want to bawl!

Keep up the good work, even though it is rough.

Everyone would be super models, if it weren’t tough!

So I am writing this poem to show my support.

Now it’s your turn, the ball is in your court!

Sister, Sister I wish you could see,

Your beauty and grace that we all see.

I love you, I love you and poems aren’t my thing.

But for you, my best friend, I would do anything!

5 thoughts on “Okay So I Lied. I Am A Liar.

  1. Kristi Smith January 30, 2009 at 2:10 am Reply

    Awww, that was a sweet poem. How nice. I am jealous your sister wrote you a poem!!!

    Thanks for your typical day, I am always curious what people are eating when they are eating healthier.

    I bought Bob Greene’s The Best Life Diet but haven’t read it yet.

  2. Becky January 30, 2009 at 11:57 am Reply

    That chicken pita pizza sounds delicious. I don’t believe I’ve ever eaten a pita of any kind. Yeah, I know, I’m sheltered like that.
    The poems you and your sister write eachother, crack me up.I say, Oorah, to sisterly support!!!

  3. Christy January 30, 2009 at 4:49 pm Reply

    I love that Eating For Life by Bill Phillips!! A lot of yummy recipes in there! I tried eating your egg & cheese on toast every day…I just knew that would be the trick to making me thin…but by the 7th day, I couldn’t eat another egg for breakfast! 🙂 I’m definitely going to try the eating every 2 hours…that’s hard to do when you’re busy but I’m willing to try anything to lose the rest of my weight!! I’m at a plateau!!! 😦

    Sweet poem!! What sweet, sisterly love!!

  4. klutzymama January 30, 2009 at 5:36 pm Reply

    Christy – Yeah that egg & cheese is an acquired taste! Ha ha!

  5. Gretchen January 30, 2009 at 5:54 pm Reply

    Tana that was awesome! She did a great job. So I now know your secret. No night snacking; this is my problem. I don’t snack all night but I do have one snack at about 8. I think sticking to fruits and veggies for snacks is a great idea. Thank you for sharing your menu.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

