Rise & Shine, Sweet Cheeks!

Morning time is fun around here.  Katie is really hard to get up.  She’s not a morning person at all.  If it were up to her, she’d sleep til 11:00 every day.  And they go to bed at 8:00!  She’s just like her daddy.

Hannah is more like me.  She’s an early riser and can pretty much pop right out of bed.

So, I’ve had to resort to some pretty crazy antics to get Katie up in the morning.  I have several different acts in my arsenal, but probably my most favorite (and the girls’ too) is my Macho Man Randy Savage wake-up call.  Remember him?  From the WWF?

1119_macho_man_memba_launch

It goes like this:  “Oooohh  Yeahhhh!  You gotta get up, girls!  Ooooh Yeaaaahhh!”

And then there is the sweet, little song that my daddy used to sing to us when we were little:

“Wake up little Rose Buds~Wake up.”  He would sing that so sweetly to us, then yank us out of bed by our ankles and tickle us to death!  The girls like that one too.

And then I have my very own song that I made up.  I try to rap it, but I’m pretty sure it just sounds ridiculous.  It goes like this:

“I said GET UP!  You sleepy heads!  Get that BOOTY outta bed!  I said WAKE UP!  You sleepy heads!  And get those BOOTIES out of bed!”

Yeah, I know, I should been a song writer.  I get that all the time.

So, this morning I’m curious as to what you guys all do or used to do to get your little chilluns out of bed.  ???  Maybe you got some tips you can share!

5 thoughts on “Rise & Shine, Sweet Cheeks!

  1. Chris Tallent January 20, 2009 at 12:02 am Reply

    I give Adi a 10 minute warning….flip the light on in the hall and kiss her…tell her she has 10 more minutes. Then I go in and turn her light on…get her clothes ready for her…if she isn’t stirring by then….I call the dog in. A few slobbery kisses and she is up and at ’em. 🙂 She used to be a pain to get up…but Ralphie did the trick.

  2. Gretchen January 20, 2009 at 12:45 am Reply

    I was reading this and Isaac was looking at it too and he saw the picture of Randy Savage and he said, “Who’s that?” and I told him and he goes, “No, I know who that is. That’s Pappa (which is what he calls my dad).” So I died laughing. And I love the rap. Well, T used to come and and whisper ever so softly and sweetly telling us it was time to get up and it drove me crazy. It was like she was trying to lull us back to sleep. I think I would rather her have yelled at us. Anyway, my mom sang the “Good morning to you, good morning to you, you look like a monkey and you smell like one to.” That was always a hit! I don’t do anything to wake my children up because they wake me up! I am sure that will change but right now I’m good with that.

  3. lil' sis January 20, 2009 at 1:57 pm Reply

    I remember when Daddy used to wake us up like that! He is the most wonderful Daddy ever! Anymore, every time I think of memories of Daddy I cry! man we are lucky to have had such a wonderful father!

    PS- I can’t wait to show Madie the Randy Savage pic. She loves Friday Night Smackdown! I will show her how they did it “back in the day” LOL!

  4. Kristi January 21, 2009 at 2:17 pm Reply

    I like the rap too! My mom always sang, “Wake up, Wake up, Wake up Sleepyheads, Cheer up, Cheer up, Time to get out of bed” in the most annoying singing voice evah! Used to drive me crazy . . . so sometimes I used that. But most of the time it is . . .

    “COLE, get out of bed, it is late, and you are going to be late for school!”

    And that usually works. 😉

  5. lil January 21, 2009 at 8:17 pm Reply

    Emma is not a morning person either. She will sit up and fall right back asleep. I usually turn on her CD player and tell her to get up. By the fifth trip back I usually have to tell her I am breaking out the spray bottle. SHE HATES THAT!!! Most times it does not go that far but I it has. I am mean mom but it is her fathers fault. It was his idea.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

