Probably Gonna Make Some Enemies With This Post…

…but, it’s my blog, so I’ll post what I want!  Bwahahaa!  🙂

I got a bee in my bonnet right now about something.  Hannah and I went into the “big town” today to run some errands.  I know that this happens a lot, but for some reason it has been bothering me more than usual lately.

We were at Goodwill and a little boy, probably about Hannah’s age, was throwing a fit and hitting his mama over and over again.  I couldn’t quite tell what the trouble was, but I believe it was because he wanted the toy she had just purchased him and she was telling him to put his coat on first.

He was screaming, crying and hitting her.  HARD.  And I seriously wanted to walk over there and yank him up and bust his little rear.  The mom just kept saying “We don’t hit, honey.  Don’t hit mommy because we don’t hit.”  If I was that little kid, I would have said, “No, YOU don’t hit.  I do!”

And, just as I knew she would, the mom gave in and the little brat got his way.

I am sorry, I know that disciplining our children has become so unpopular nowadays, but I’m gonna tell you right now that we spank our kids when they need it.

The funny thing is, we hardly ever have to spank them.  They know that if they do something that deserves a spanking, then they will indeed get a spanking.  Lo and behold, they are both pretty well behaved little girls.

The girls and I were in the grocery store one day (this was when Katie was in half day kindergarten) and they were both being wild.  They were running and screaming and I told them to stop.  They did not.  So, I walked over and snatched them both up and spanked both of their butts right in the middle of the aisle and right in front of 2 other moms who looked at me with disgust.  To which I looked at the ladies and said “Yeah, I spanked them, get over it.”  Katie was so embarrassed that she was spanked in public and Hannah was just mad that she got spanked at all.  I will tell you that it was the last time that either of them ever received a spanking in a store.  They know better now.

And I will admit that I did hesitate, just for a second, before spanking them in front of those women because I know how it is now and I know that it’s frowned upon by most.  However, I also knew that if I didn’t do it, then I would be teaching them that it’s okay to act that way in public.  Yes, I could have waited until we were out of the store or I could have waited until the aisle was clear, but if I would have waited, I don’t think they would’ve received the message as loud and clear as they did.

And that is not to say that they don’t ever act up in a store.  But now when they do, I tell them to stop, and they stop.  Because they know.  My children are not perfect.  They are children and I love letting them be children, but they also have to be taught manners and respect for others and I believe that it is possible to let them be children and let it all hang out when it’s appropriate and I also think that they need to be taught when it is not appropriate to behave that way.  Like when you’re at the grocery store.

We don’t abuse them or beat them.  We discipline.  And in my most humble opinion, kids today are seriously lacking discipline and respect for others.

The girls went to a birthday party a few houses down last summer.  When I walked down to pick them up, several of the adults that were there commented on how well-behaved and polite they were.  At first, I was thinking “Do they have the right kids?”…but then now when I see the way some of the kids in Katie’s school behave, I can see what they meant.  I don’t say that to brag on my girls, but just to point out that there are too few parents out there making sure that their kids are acting appropriately.  It is sad, really.

It is sad because I see so many parents coddling and babying their kids and these will be the kids who grow up and can’t seem to cope because they think that the rest of the world should give a frig about their feelings.  They walk around with a false sense of entitlement.  Only !NEWSFLASH! kid, the world could care less.  So, unfortunately for you, you are a big wimp because your parents were too afraid to take a stand when you were a child and make you mind.

I hope I’m not being too harsh, but this really infuriates me when I see it.  It is possible to love your children and raise them to have a high feeling of self-worth without giving in to their every desire.  I believe that it is possible to raise a child who can grow into an independent adult without making sure that they never have to suffer a disappointment.  Life is all about disappointment, people.  They need to know that before you turn them loose in this world.

So, in all fairness, please feel free to let me have it in the comment section – this is just my opinion, you are entitled to yours and I would, of course, love to hear it.

Stepping down from soapbox now…

8 thoughts on “Probably Gonna Make Some Enemies With This Post…

  1. Becky January 13, 2009 at 12:04 am Reply

    Scoot over, girl! I’ll stand up there with ya!!
    I hear ya and agree completely. What really gets me is people who don’t have kids telling me what I should and shouldn’t do.
    Funny, how it only takes one time. They remember that forever.
    I used to tell my oldest son, who was hard headed, that I would pull his pants down right in the middle of the store and let him have it. That definitely got his attention. But I’ve had to pop them a few times, just to drive the point home. Telling them if that didn’t work, the pants were coming down next. Never had to do that though. Wonder why?

  2. Gretchen January 13, 2009 at 12:52 am Reply

    Too true! You won’t make any enemies here – you know I am with you!

  3. 50s Housewife January 13, 2009 at 3:52 am Reply

    No enemies here. 🙂 I remember when I was teaching preschool and one day one of the 3 year olds didn’t want to come in. His mom was saying “Would you like to hop in like a bunny or would you like to crawl in like a turtle?” I was thinking that if she wanted to drop him off she just needed to do it and leave. What was the point of all the “choices”? 3 year olds do NOT need all those choices in my opinion. 🙂

  4. Christy January 13, 2009 at 4:33 am Reply

    I’m with ya!

  5. vickie westermeyer January 13, 2009 at 1:14 pm Reply

    no disagreement from me whatsoever! Your words were right on the mark

  6. Lil January 13, 2009 at 1:21 pm Reply

    I too am a spanking mom, but only when needed. Lucky for me is not often. I just have to give one of those mom looks and she knows. Anyway, I received spankings when I was a child and I turned out OK. Maybe that is what is wrong with half these kids is they didn’t receive any discipline and now the run around getting in trouble. I think we have all seen that kid in the store and his mom.

  7. lil' sis January 13, 2009 at 3:32 pm Reply

    AMEN SISTER! All three of my children are so different. Maryka has gotten the most spankings of all, I think!! Just like her mommy! Madie just a few times, the scary mommy looks work on her, for the most part! Mason…I don’t think I have ever needed to do more than smack his hand when he was a toddler! He tears up and straigthens up instantly just when I use an angry voice. But beleive me if he ever really needs a whooping, he will get one. And I dont think kids are ever too old to spank…I mean, to an extent. maryka was 13 when she got her last one! I’m sure you remember that long story! So, I am with you 100%!!

  8. heathermiller January 13, 2009 at 10:11 pm Reply

    Sorry I am a little behind on your blog with my weekend excursion!

    You have one more Amen from me! If you don’t believe me, just ask your Aunt Julie who witnessed first hand my “Come to Jesus” talk with the most stubborn 4 year old ever, my son Sam in a parking lot yesterday! He decided once again to run off without waiting for me or holding anyone’s hand in a busy parking lot. So I snatched him up, took him right back to the car, and he got a good swat! It doesn’t matter where or when kids misbehave. Parents just have to deal with it!

    The funniest part was your Aunt Julie running in fear into the restaurant and then turning around to see what was going to happen, like she was next or something. She actually asked on the way out of the restaurant if she needed to hold someone’s hand!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

