Don’t Worry, Be Happy

Today at church at the top of the bulletin I read “Matthew 6:33-34”.  This wasn’t the text for the sermon, maybe it was from last week (we weren’t there).  So, as I sat there waiting for the service to begin, my curiosity got the best of me.  I looked it up and this is what I found:

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.   Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

This really made so much sense to me as I tend to be a worry wart.  I worry about paying the bills and I worry about my husband and the girls’ safety.  My parents, my sister, my nieces and nephew.  I worry about the effect that this world is having on my children and I worry that I’m not doing a good enough job as a mother.  I worry about trying to start college funds and the fact that we have nothing set back for retirement.  Worry, worry, worry…

But, the last part is so true, each day does have enough trouble of it’s own, why am I worrying so much about other things?  I’m gonna work really hard at not worrying too much and just trusting God more.  I know I have to worry about things to a certain extent, but I want to try to start praying every time I feel the worry creeping in.  I think that’s a good start.

4 thoughts on “Don’t Worry, Be Happy

  1. Becky January 11, 2009 at 11:32 pm Reply

    I agree totally! But sometimes it’s easier said than done. You have inspired me to do the same. Or atleast try!

  2. Chris Tallent January 12, 2009 at 5:07 am Reply

    It is always good to know that someone is reading that bulletin 🙂 I didn’t get to talk to you today…but Wanda said that she talked with you and that you might be interested in the WER retreat. I think that you would really like it. I went last year and it was great. If you have any questions…just let me know. Wish you would have been able to come to the “retreat” at the church Friday & Saturday…we had a good time. We played a game that you probably would have been good at…kind of like a name that tune thing…all of the song titles had “love” in the title…it was quite humorous. The video series that we watched was Beth Moore…Loving Well. The ladies seemed very into it all…and have requested that we do it once a quarter…so, we probably will 🙂 Hope you can come next time….we are all pretty nuts…you would fit in just fine ;). Let me know if you have any questions about the WER retreat. Talk soon. CKT

  3. klutzymama January 12, 2009 at 11:40 am Reply

    Chris –
    Oh I wish I could have come, that sounds like it was a lot of fun! I will have to get some more info. on the other one. I was reading about the one that is coming up and I thought “I should go to this.” And then Wanda came up to me after church and started talking about the other one and then I thought “Yeah, I should definitely go.” So, I’d like to get some more info and then sit down and talk to Brian about it. Thanks!

  4. Kristi January 12, 2009 at 1:28 pm Reply

    I love those verses too. Probably the ones I have read most often. I worry about everything as well.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

